Fall transitionAmazon USReady for Longer EveningsReview search, captions, and profiles as outdoor days give way to longer indoor viewing.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCMLB postseason buildupAmazon USWarm Up for October BaseballBuild a queue of baseball history, ballpark stories, and American sports documentaries.See Picks×
Skip to content
Blog

Kate Middleton’s Windsor Farm Shop Visit: What “Happy and Healthy” Really Established

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Yes—the March 2024 report referred to a specific, apparently genuine outing by Catherine, Princess of Wales, then commonly referred to as Kate Middleton, and Prince William. The couple were reported to have visited Windsor Farm Shop near their home on Saturday, March 16, 2024. The initial account came from eyewitnesses quoted by The Sun; a short video released the following day appeared to show the couple leaving the shop with shopping bags.

But the evidence had limits. Kensington Palace did not formally confirm the visit, and the description that Kate looked “happy and healthy” was an observation about her appearance—not a medical assessment. Four days after the video emerged, Catherine announced that tests following her January abdominal surgery had found cancer and that she was undergoing chemotherapy. Those later facts did not prove the shop footage was fake; they showed why a person’s appearance during a brief outing cannot establish their underlying health.

The short answer

The Windsor Farm Shop story developed in two stages:

  1. On March 17, 2024, The Sun reported that William and Kate had visited the shop the previous day. The report relied primarily on eyewitness accounts and did not include a contemporary photograph of the visit.
  2. On March 18, The Sun and TMZ published a short video supplied by a named shopper, Nelson Silva. The footage appeared to show William and Kate walking outside the shop and carrying bags.

The strongest defensible conclusion is that the video and witness account provided substantial contemporary support for the reported outing. However, the visit was not specifically confirmed by Kensington Palace or by Windsor Farm Shop at the time. The footage showed what the couple appeared to be doing; it did not provide a diagnosis, prognosis or proof that Catherine had recovered from surgery.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The location itself is real. Windsor Farm Shop is a business on the edge of the Windsor Estate in Old Windsor, Berkshire, selling produce from Windsor Farms, British specialty producers and local artisans. Its official address is Datchet Road, Old Windsor, Windsor, Berkshire, SL4 2RQ. It is properly called a farm shop, not a farmers’ market. Windsor Great Park describes the shop and its facilities here.

What The Sun originally reported

The Sun published its initial report at about 10 p.m. on Sunday, March 17, saying that the couple had visited Windsor Farm Shop on Saturday, March 16. The shop is roughly a mile from Adelaide Cottage, where the Wales family lived in Windsor.

According to the report, witnesses described Kate as “happy, relaxed and healthy.” The couple were said to have been shopping together, while their children—Prince George, Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis—were reportedly taking part in sports elsewhere that weekend. The children were not reported to have been inside the shop with their parents.

That last detail should remain attributed to The Sun. The shop visit was later supported by video, but the children’s sports outing was not independently documented by the strongest available sources.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The first article also had an important weakness: it did not publish a photograph or video taken during the alleged visit. Instead, it used a file photograph of Kate. That choice mattered because the report appeared during a period when the public and media were already demanding visual evidence of her wellbeing. The use of an older image made the story look less substantiated and helped fuel the reaction that the public needed more than an anonymous account.

The original Sun report contains the eyewitness description and the publication’s account of the March 16 visit.

The video that appeared the next day

On Monday, March 18, a short video emerged and was published by both The Sun and TMZ. It appeared to show William and a woman identified by the outlets as Kate walking and talking outside the farm shop while carrying shopping bags.

The footage was supplied by Nelson Silva, a shopper who said he recognized Kate while he was inside the shop. Silva told TMZ that the couple had been choosing bread. He said he went to his car and filmed them as they left, partly because he wanted to show his family how ordinary the encounter appeared.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Silva was a named witness and the person who recorded the clip, not a palace representative. His account should therefore be treated as attributed eyewitness testimony rather than as an official confirmation.

TMZ said it checked the file’s metadata and concluded that the recording had been made on the preceding Saturday, March 16. That was consistent with the original report. However, the metadata claim came from TMZ and was not independently confirmed by Kensington Palace. It is more accurate to say that TMZ reported that its metadata review placed the recording on March 16 than to describe the date as conclusively authenticated by an independent forensic examination.

The video strengthened the story considerably because it was contemporary footage apparently showing the couple at the location. It still did not independently verify every detail in the accompanying articles, including the account of the children’s activities or the witnesses’ description of Kate’s health.

TMZ’s report identifies Silva and explains its account of the video and metadata. ABC News also reported on the video, the earlier file-photo issue and the palace’s response.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Did Kensington Palace confirm the visit?

No formal confirmation from Kensington Palace was located in the contemporaneous coverage. The palace did not publicly confirm that the couple had visited the shop, and reporting at the time said that neither the palace nor the shop had confirmed or denied the original account.

That silence created two possible errors in public discussion:

  • It was not reasonable to treat the absence of a palace statement as proof that the video was fake.
  • It was also not reasonable to describe the outing as palace-authenticated.

The careful wording is that reputable outlets identified the couple in the footage as William and Kate, and the video provided visual support for the report. Kensington Palace did not specifically confirm the March 16 shop visit.

The shop’s proximity to the Windsor Estate and to the family’s home also led to speculation that the outing might have been intended as a low-key reassurance to the public. That interpretation was never established by the available evidence. There is no reliable basis for saying that the palace arranged or staged the appearance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why an ordinary shopping trip became international news

The sighting occurred during an unusually intense period of uncertainty about Catherine’s health and the royal family’s communications.

January surgery and a planned absence

Kensington Palace announced on January 17, 2024, that Catherine had undergone planned abdominal surgery. The palace said the surgery had been successful, that she was expected to remain in hospital for 10 to 14 days, and that she was unlikely to return to public duties until after Easter. The statement also asked that her medical information remain private.

She had not made an official public appearance since Christmas Day 2023. That combination—a long absence, limited official information and an unspecified abdominal condition—made even an ordinary sighting unusually newsworthy.

The January 17 palace statement is the primary source for the surgery and expected recovery timetable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Mother’s Day photograph controversy

On March 10, Kensington Palace released a photograph of Catherine with her three children for Mother’s Day. Major photo agencies later withdrew the image, issuing a “kill” notice because of concerns that it had been manipulated.

Catherine apologized the next day, saying that she sometimes experimented with editing and expressing regret for any confusion caused. Her statement was an apology for editing the image; it was not an admission that the entire photograph had been fabricated.

The controversy damaged confidence in the palace’s handling of images and increased pressure for a clear, contemporary sighting. Against that background, the Windsor Farm Shop video was treated by some outlets and commentators as a kind of “proof of life” image. That context explains the scale of the coverage, but it does not turn the clip into medical evidence.

The Associated Press explained why agencies withdrew the Mother’s Day photograph. ABC News reported Catherine’s apology.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Was it Kate’s first public appearance since surgery?

That depends on what “first appearance” means. The phrase was often used too broadly.

  • Last official public appearance: Christmas Day 2023, at the royal family’s church service.
  • First widely reported image during recovery: A low-quality photograph reportedly showed Catherine in a car with her mother on March 4, 2024. She was also reported to have traveled by car on other occasions.
  • First widely circulated video of her walking in public after surgery: The Windsor Farm Shop footage released on March 18, showing the reported March 16 outing.
  • First official, palace-backed video after the surgery: Catherine’s March 22 video in which she announced that post-operative tests had found cancer.

The most accurate description is therefore: the farm-shop clip was the first widely circulated video of Catherine out walking in public since her January surgery. It was not literally the first image or reported sighting of her during the recovery period.

ABC’s chronology sets out the earlier car photograph, the farm-shop footage and the later official announcement.

What “happy and healthy” did—and did not—mean

In the original reporting, “happy and healthy” described how witnesses believed Catherine looked during a brief encounter. In practical terms, it meant that she appeared relaxed, cheerful, comfortable walking and well enough to shop.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It did not establish that she was medically healthy. The phrase did not prove that:

  • she had fully recovered from her surgery;
  • she was free of cancer;
  • her illness was minor;
  • she was ready to resume official duties; or
  • she had no serious condition that was not visible to bystanders.

A person receiving or preparing for serious medical treatment can appear animated, mobile or cheerful during a short public outing. The later cancer disclosure does not contradict the witnesses’ limited observations. It changes how those observations must be understood: they were impressions of appearance, not a clinical evaluation.

This distinction is especially important in reporting about anyone’s health. Smiling, walking, shopping or appearing energetic cannot establish what doctors have found through examinations, scans or laboratory tests.

What Catherine revealed four days later

On Friday, March 22, Catherine released an official video recorded at Windsor. She said that she had undergone major abdominal surgery in January and that doctors had initially believed the condition was non-cancerous. Tests carried out after the operation, she said, found that cancer had been present.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

She also said that she had begun a course of preventive chemotherapy and asked for time, space and privacy while she and her family dealt with the news. She did not disclose the type of cancer.

This announcement was the crucial context missing from the original farm-shop story. The word “healthy” in the earlier report cannot be read retrospectively as an official statement about Catherine’s condition. Nor does the announcement establish that the shop visit was staged or impossible. The two accounts are compatible: Catherine could have been out shopping, looked well to people who saw her, and still have had cancer discovered through post-operative testing.

Catherine’s official March 22 video is available here. The Associated Press published a transcript of the announcement.

What the later record shows—and what it does not

In January 2025, the Royal Family announced that Catherine had received treatment at The Royal Marsden and appointed her joint patron of the trust. The announcement referred to her personal cancer journey, but it did not provide a basis for inferring a specific cancer type, prognosis or treatment outcome.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Later official records also document Catherine undertaking public engagements. The Court Circular entry for June 27–28, 2026, records her participation in the National Three Peaks Challenge. That establishes public activity, not a complete medical update. Public appearances should not be used to fill in private medical information that the family and doctors have not released.

Read the Royal Family’s January 2025 Royal Marsden announcement. The official Court Circular is available from the Royal Family’s website.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Did later events prove the video was fake?

No reliable evidence in the available record establishes that the woman in the video was not Catherine. Body-double claims circulated online because the clip was short and low-resolution and because it appeared during the Mother’s Day photograph controversy.

Fact-checking coverage rated one claim that the footage showed a stunt double as false. Catherine’s official March 22 video then provided a separate, palace-backed appearance by the Princess of Wales. That video was not a formal statement about the farm-shop clip, but it offered no support for the claim that the earlier footage had been conclusively fabricated.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The evidence should be described proportionately:

  • The video was contemporary footage distributed by TMZ and The Sun.
  • A named shopper said he filmed the couple outside the shop.
  • TMZ said metadata placed the recording on March 16.
  • Kensington Palace did not specifically confirm the visit.
  • No reliable evidence located for this account proves that the clip was staged or showed a body double.

Poynter’s fact-check examined the stunt-double claim.

Evidence guide: what is confirmed, reported and unsupported?

Claim Assessment
Catherine underwent abdominal surgery in January 2024. Confirmed by Kensington Palace.
William and Catherine were reported to have visited Windsor Farm Shop on March 16, 2024. Supported by the original report, a named witness and later video.
The video was recorded on March 16. Reported by TMZ based on its metadata review; not independently confirmed by Kensington Palace.
Catherine looked “happy and healthy.” Eyewitness and tabloid description. Not a medical finding.
The couple watched their children play sports that weekend. Reported by The Sun; not independently established in the strongest available sources.
Kensington Palace arranged or staged the outing. Unconfirmed speculation.
The footage showed a stunt double. Unsupported; fact-checking coverage rated the claim false.
Post-operative tests found cancer and Catherine began chemotherapy. Confirmed by Catherine in her official March 22 video.

The verified timeline

  1. December 25, 2023: Catherine made her last official public appearance before the health-related absence at the Christmas Day church service.
  2. January 16, 2024: She was admitted for planned abdominal surgery.
  3. January 17: Kensington Palace announced the surgery and said she was expected to remain in hospital for 10 to 14 days, with a return to public duties unlikely before Easter.
  4. March 4: A reported paparazzi photograph showed Catherine in a car with her mother. This was not a palace-issued photograph.
  5. March 10: Kensington Palace released the Mother’s Day photograph of Catherine and her children. Photo agencies later withdrew it because of manipulation concerns.
  6. March 11: Catherine apologized for editing the photograph.
  7. Saturday, March 16: The reported Windsor Farm Shop visit took place.
  8. Sunday, March 17: The Sun published the initial eyewitness report without contemporary imagery.
  9. Monday, March 18: The Sun and TMZ published the short video supplied by Nelson Silva.
  10. March 20: Catherine’s official health video was recorded at Windsor by BBC Studios, according to the video’s distribution information.
  11. Friday, March 22: Catherine announced that post-operative tests had found cancer and that she was undergoing chemotherapy.
  12. January 15, 2025: The Royal Family announced Catherine’s treatment at The Royal Marsden and her appointment as joint patron of the trust.
  13. June 27–28, 2026: A Court Circular entry recorded Catherine undertaking the National Three Peaks Challenge.

Bottom line on the Windsor Farm Shop report

The farm-shop story was not merely an unsupported anonymous rumor. It concerned a specific March 16, 2024 outing, and the later video—combined with the account of named witness Nelson Silva—provided contemporary support for the conclusion that William and Catherine were there.

It was also not a palace-confirmed medical update. The initial report’s “happy and healthy” wording described what witnesses thought they saw. It could not establish that Catherine had recovered, was cancer-free or had no serious illness. Her March 22 announcement that cancer had been found after surgery explains why those distinctions matter: looking well for a few minutes and having a serious diagnosis are not mutually exclusive.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did Kate Middleton really visit Windsor Farm Shop with Prince William?

The available evidence supports that conclusion, but with a qualification. The Sun first reported the March 16, 2024 visit, and a later video supplied by named shopper Nelson Silva appeared to show William and Catherine leaving the shop. Kensington Palace did not formally confirm the specific visit.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Was the Windsor Farm Shop video officially authenticated?

No palace authentication was located. TMZ said its metadata review placed the recording on March 16, 2024, and the footage was consistent with the eyewitness report. That is support for the reported outing, not an independently published forensic authentication.

Was Kate medically healthy when witnesses saw her?

The phrase “happy and healthy” described the witnesses’ visual impression. It was not a medical assessment and did not establish that she was free of cancer or fully recovered from surgery.

What did Kate later say about her health?

In an official video released on March 22, 2024, Catherine said that tests following her January abdominal surgery had found cancer and that she had begun preventive chemotherapy. She did not disclose the type of cancer.

Was the farm-shop outing Kate’s first appearance after surgery?

It was the first widely circulated video of Catherine walking in public after her January surgery. It was not necessarily her first sighting during recovery, because photographs reportedly showed her traveling in a car earlier in March.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Bottom Line

The best-supported answer is yes: the report referred to a real, specifically dated outing that was later supported by contemporary video and a named witness. But “happy and healthy” was an eyewitness impression, not a diagnosis, and Kensington Palace never specifically confirmed the shop visit. Catherine’s later cancer announcement did not invalidate the footage; it demonstrated the limits of judging someone’s medical condition from appearance alone.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.