Spotify Basic is a U.S. plan for some existing Premium subscribers, but it is not a new 2026 launch: Spotify announced it on June 21, 2024. It keeps core music features while removing the monthly audiobook listening allowance. As of August 18, 2026, Spotify’s public materials do not establish one universal current Basic price, so check the offer on your own account before switching.
What Spotify Basic is—and when it launched
Spotify introduced Basic in the U.S. on June 21, 2024, as another subscription choice after audiobooks became part of Premium. At launch, Spotify priced Basic at $10.99 per month and Premium Individual at $11.99 per month. Those are historical launch prices, not a confirmed current Basic price. Spotify’s launch announcement
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Google Play gift code | $15.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Google Play gift code | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
$300 Apple Gift Card—Email Delivery | $300.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Visa Virtual eGift Card | $28.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Google Play Physical Gift Card | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
Spotify still documents Basic in its U.S. support center, but describes it as an option for eligible people who already have Premium—not as a plan every new subscriber can choose. Spotify Basic eligibility and plan details
What Basic includes and what it leaves out
Basic is music-focused. Spotify lists ad-free listening, offline downloads, on-demand playback, high audio quality and music access while traveling abroad among the retained features. The central difference is that Basic has no included monthly audiobook listening time from Spotify’s subscriber catalog. Spotify says audiobooks can still be bought separately as one-time purchases.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift codes can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- New finds, old favorites, one card. Choose a unique gift card design featuring your favorite games or apps. This card can also be used for anything else on Google Play. There’s something for everyone, so find what’s yours. Go Play.
- To redeem, enter code in the Play Store app or play.google.com.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift code, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
Do not assume that Basic is identical to Premium in every other respect. Spotify warns that some Premium features related to non-music content may not be available on Basic. Its guidance does not establish that podcasts are removed, nor does it promise that every newer non-music feature works the same way. Check the plan details in your account if a specific feature matters. Spotify’s Basic feature qualifications
Basic price versus Premium price
Spotify raised U.S. Premium prices in January 2026. As of August 18, 2026, Spotify’s U.S. Premium page lists Premium Individual at $12.99 per month and includes 15 hours per month of audiobook listening from its subscriber catalog. The current Basic price is not stated as one universal public price in the available Basic support information; use the amount shown in your own plan-change screen rather than assuming the 2024 launch price still applies. Spotify’s January 2026 pricing announcement · Spotify U.S. Premium plans
Rank #2
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift codes can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- New finds, old favorites, one card. Choose a unique gift card design featuring your favorite games or apps. This card can also be used for anything else on Google Play. There’s something for everyone, so find what’s yours. Go Play.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift code, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
- Endless games to explore: Find and play old and new favorites – from mind-bending puzzles to epic quests and more.
| Plan or detail | What is established |
|---|---|
| Basic at launch | $10.99 per month when announced June 21, 2024; not a verified current price. Spotify launch announcement |
| Basic now | Current price varies by the offer shown to an eligible account; a single current public price is not stated in Spotify’s Basic support article. Spotify Basic support |
| Premium Individual | $12.99 per month on Spotify’s U.S. Premium page as of August 18, 2026; includes 15 audiobook hours per month. Spotify U.S. Premium plans |
The practical comparison is the difference between the Basic offer you actually receive and Premium’s price, weighed against whether you use the audiobook hours or need a Premium feature that Basic may not include. Basic is most compelling for an eligible music-first listener who does not use the allowance. Premium is the more straightforward choice for audiobook listeners or anyone who prefers not to risk losing access to non-music features.
Who can get Basic?
Spotify says availability is account-specific and generally limited to previously existing Premium subscribers who see Basic among their plan options. New users may not be able to subscribe directly. Premium Student subscribers are excluded, and Duo or Family members cannot independently change the household subscription: the plan manager controls it. A missing Basic option means it is not currently available to that account. Spotify’s eligibility rules
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rank #3
- For all things Apple - products, accessories, apps, games, music, movies, TV shows, iCloud+, and more.
- Perfect for App Store purchases and subscriptions—get apps, games, music, movies, TV shows, and more.
- The perfect gift to say happy birthday, thank you, congratulations, and more.
- Available in $15 - 500, Card delivered via email or SMS
- Use it for purchases at any Apple Store location, on the Apple Store app, apple.com, the App Store, iTunes, Apple Music, Apple TV, Apple News+, Apple Books, Apple Arcade, iCloud+, Fitness+, Apple One, and other Apple properties in US only
| Current subscription role | Possible Basic option | How it works |
|---|---|---|
| Premium Individual subscriber | Basic Individual | One account, if the option appears in the account’s plan choices. |
| Premium Duo manager | Basic Duo | For two people living together, with separate accounts; the manager controls the plan. |
| Premium Family manager | Basic Family | For up to six household members with separate accounts; the manager administers the plan and can set explicit-content filters. |
| Premium Student subscriber or a Duo/Family member who is not the manager | Not eligible to switch independently | Spotify excludes Student and places household-plan management with the manager. |
Spotify’s public U.S. page lists regular Premium Duo at $18.99 per month and Family at $21.99 per month, but those amounts do not establish the price of Basic Duo or Basic Family. Compare the full household bill with the Basic offer shown to the manager, rather than treating an individual price as the household saving. Spotify U.S. Premium plans
How to switch to Basic
- Sign in at spotify.com/account.
- Under Manage your plan, select Change plan.
- Choose the Basic option displayed for your account and review its price and plan terms before confirming.
- The change takes effect on your next billing date; Spotify charges the new price starting with that billing cycle.
Spotify lists credit or debit card, PayPal and Google Play Billing as payment methods for switching. If Basic is absent from the plan-change page, Spotify does not currently offer it to that account. Spotify’s switching instructions
Rank #4
- Visa Virtual eGift Cards are designed for online use only. Gift Cards are subject to Terms and Conditions: a.co/5bw3qXJ
- When you access your Visa Virtual eGift Card for the first time, you’ll need to register your name, address, phone number, and email address via activationspot.com. These details should also be used as your billing address for online purchases, as many merchants require address verification for purchase authorization.
- This Visa Virtual eGift Card is non-reloadable. No cash or ATM access. Visa Virtual eGift Cards are emailed active.
- Funds do not expire but your Visa Virtual eGift Card has a ‘valid thru’ date (9 years from date of purchase). If funds remain after this date has passed, please call the Toll Free number found on your Visa Virtual eGift Card for a replacement card. A one-time purchase fee applies at the time of checkout.
- This item is not eligible for refund, resale, or return. Available for sale within the United States only. Not available to residents of Puerto Rico, Hawaii, New Mexico, South Dakota, West Virginia and the US Virgin Islands.
Think carefully before canceling Basic
Spotify says that a canceled Basic plan cannot be resubscribed to in the future. While the subscription remains active, its features continue until the next billing date; after that, the account moves to Spotify Free. If you may want Basic again later, cancellation is not a reversible way to pause it. Spotify Basic cancellation terms
Quick Recap
Best Value
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift cards can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- To redeem, peel or gently scratch label and enter code in the Play Store app or play.google.com.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift card, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
- Endless games to explore: Find and play old and new favorites – from mind-bending puzzles to epic quests and more.
Which plan makes sense for you?
- Consider Basic if it appears on your existing account, you mainly want ad-free and offline music, and you do not use Spotify’s included audiobook hours.
- Stay with Premium Individual if you use the monthly audiobook allowance or want the broader Premium feature set. The U.S. page lists it at $12.99 per month as of August 18, 2026. Spotify U.S. Premium plans
- Check Student only if you meet Spotify’s student verification requirements; the U.S. page lists Student at $6.99 per month after the introductory offer. Student is not a route to Basic. Spotify U.S. Premium plans
- Compare Duo or Family as a household if multiple people living together need separate accounts. The U.S. page lists regular Duo at $18.99 and Family at $21.99 per month; neither figure establishes a Basic household-plan price. Spotify U.S. Premium plans
- Use Free if you do not want a paid subscription, understanding that it is ad-supported and does not provide the full Premium experience. Spotify’s price-update help page
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.




