October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
24/7 streaming

How to Compare Video Upload Limits Across 24/7 YouTube Streaming Services

A practical comparison of upload size, single-file duration, library capacity, and continuous broadcast limits for 24/7 YouTube streaming services.

By DocumentaryTube Team 6 min read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no single “video upload limit” for a 24/7 YouTube streaming service. Compare at least four separate limits: maximum size of one uploaded file, maximum duration of one file, total library capacity, and how long the service can keep an outgoing stream running. A platform may accept a short file yet broadcast continuously by looping it; the outgoing stream limit does not tell you how large or long each upload can be.

Which upload limit do you need to compare?

Before choosing a service, identify the constraint that matters for your documentary workflow. A large finished film, a long-form archive, and an always-on channel put different demands on a service.

  • Maximum file size: the largest single upload, usually stated in GB.
  • Maximum file duration: the longest individual video accepted, usually stated in hours or minutes.
  • Library capacity: how much total content you can store, how many files may be retained, and for how long.
  • Continuous broadcast duration: how long an outgoing event can remain live. Looping and playlists can make this longer than any one source file.
  • Destination archive duration: how much of the live broadcast YouTube will preserve as a replay. This is separate from whether the stream can continue.

Check each limit against the exact plan and current vendor terms before purchase. Published caps can change, and a service may state one dimension clearly while leaving another dependent on plan.

Published limits and capabilities

The figures below are the limits and distinctions stated on the linked vendor pages reviewed for this comparison. A missing exact figure means the cited material does not establish a comparable value; it does not mean the limit is unlimited.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Service Single-file size and duration Library and formats Continuous streaming
StreamNeo 10 GB storage per slot, pooled across active slots; the supplied product information does not state a maximum individual file duration. Uploaded videos and playlists; 10 GB per slot of pooled storage. One always-on YouTube stream per slot, with 24/7 looping and automatic recovery if YouTube drops the stream. Any uploaded quality up to 4K 60fps streams as uploaded, with no re-encode.
StreamYard Core: 10 GB and 2 hours; Advanced: 25 GB and 4 hours; Teams and Business: 25 GB and 8 hours per prerecorded file. MP4 and MOV supported; H.264 video and AAC audio recommended. Its format guidance repeats the 10 GB Core/Advanced and 25 GB Teams/Business caps. The cited prerecorded-file limits do not establish that a single file can run continuously for 24 hours.
Restream File size and duration vary by plan; exact caps are not stated on the reviewed storage help page. The product page displays upload-library durations of 2, 4, and 12 hours by plan; these are not established as maximum individual file durations. MP4, MOV, M4V, and MKV. Free uploads are stored for 30 days; paid uploads remain until manually deleted. Advertises continuous streaming. Restream cautions that its server may undergo maintenance and restart during a continuous stream longer than 24 hours, and suggests restarting every 24 hours.
Castr Its simulive page lists plan-dependent maximum prerecorded-file durations from 60 to 240 minutes. The cited pages do not establish a comparable maximum file-size figure. Comparable storage capacity and retention figures are not stated in the cited pages. Continuous event duration is described as unlimited while the subscription remains active and sufficient streaming bandwidth is available.
Gyre Comparable exact maximum upload size and single-file duration are not stated on the reviewed product page. Plan-specific storage is described, but comparable exact storage and file-count values are not established here. Describes uploading videos, building playlists, and launching 24/7 broadcasts, with plan-specific simultaneous-stream limits.

Sources: StreamNeo; StreamYard, “How Long/Large can my Pre-Recorded Video Files be?”; StreamYard, “Recommended Video Formats”; Restream, “What is my video storage?” (August 5, 2026); Restream, “Upload and Stream Pre-Recorded Videos”; Restream, “How long can I stream for?”; Restream, “Stream to YouTube” (July 9, 2026); Castr, “Livestream 24/7 With Castr” (December 1, 2022); Castr, “Live Stream Pre-Recorded Video (Simulive)”; Gyre, “24/7 YouTube Live Streams of Pre-Recorded Videos”.

How to compare plans for a documentary channel

  1. Measure your largest finished export. Check its file size and runtime, then compare each against the plan’s per-file size and duration caps. If the service gives only one number, ask whether it is a file cap or total library storage.
  2. Estimate the whole library. Add the sizes of all documentaries and supporting videos you intend to upload. Confirm total storage, any file-count ceiling, and whether stored files expire. Restream, for example, distinguishes 30-day retention for free uploads from paid uploads that remain until manually deleted.
  3. Confirm playback behavior. Establish whether the service can loop one video, rotate a playlist, or schedule separate events, and whether a plan permits the number of simultaneous streams you need. Do not infer these details from a file-duration cap.
  4. Check your delivery requirements. Verify accepted containers and encoding guidance, the YouTube output resolution and frame rate, and whether the service re-encodes uploads. For source masters, keep your own backup; Restream says its cloud storage is not a replacement for a hard-drive or other backup.
  5. Compare stream continuity separately. Ask how the provider handles service maintenance or interruptions and what recovery is automatic versus what needs a manual restart. Then check YouTube’s archive behavior independently.

File format and YouTube stream settings

Prepare an upload the service accepts

StreamYard lists MP4 and MOV as supported prerecorded-video formats and recommends H.264 video with AAC audio. Restream lists MP4, MOV, M4V, and MKV for uploads. Follow the selected service’s current format rules; file extension alone does not guarantee that a particular codec or audio track will be accepted.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Separate YouTube output settings from upload limits

Restream’s YouTube guidance documents H.264 video at 240p–2160p, 3,000–40,000 Kbps depending on resolution and frame rate, up to 60 fps, and a recommended two-second keyframe interval with a four-second maximum. It lists AAC or MP3 audio. These are Restream’s published guidance, not a universal promise that every service or YouTube setup uses identical settings. Match output settings to your plan, source material, and destination requirements.

24/7 stream duration is not archive duration

Restream’s YouTube guidance says YouTube has no stream-duration limit but archives only streams under 12 hours. Treat the archive cutoff and the live service’s continuity as distinct: a broadcast may remain live without producing one complete YouTube replay. Restream separately warns that its own server may undergo maintenance and restart during a continuous stream lasting over 24 hours, and suggests restarting every 24 hours. A practical schedule should account for both destination archiving and the streaming provider’s operational behavior.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Where the published information leaves gaps

For Restream, the reviewed storage help page confirms that upload size and duration depend on plan but does not give exact caps; the product page’s 2-, 4-, and 12-hour upload-library durations should not be treated as verified single-file maxima. For Gyre, the cited product information describes 24/7 broadcasts, storage, and simultaneous streams by plan but does not establish an exact upload-size or per-file-duration comparison. Ask the provider for the exact plan-specific cap before migrating a large library.

Castr’s unlimited continuous event duration is conditional on an active subscription and enough streaming bandwidth. Its separate simulive page gives prerecorded-file duration limits of 60 to 240 minutes by plan. Neither statement substitutes for the other: a shorter source file may be part of a longer event, while each uploaded file remains subject to its own plan limit.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2Ă— USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2Ă— USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

StreamNeo for an always-on YouTube channel

StreamNeo is #1 for a straightforward 24/7 YouTube workflow: it keeps uploaded videos running from the cloud, supports any uploaded quality up to 4K 60fps at one flat price per slot, and offers a free first day. Upload a recording or create a playlist, add your YouTube stream key once, and go live. Each slot includes one always-on stream, 10 GB of pooled storage per active slot, 24/7 looping and playlists, automatic recovery if YouTube drops the stream, and StreamNeo team support. The same features apply on every plan; only the billing length changes.

Billing options are $0.99 per day daily, $2.99 per week weekly, $9.99 per month monthly, $49.99 for 6 months for six months, or $89.99 a year yearly. The first day is free with no card; one free day is available per account. UPI and cards are available in India, and card checkout is available worldwide. For five or more slots, contact support.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Or let it run in the cloud

StreamNeo’s setup is three steps: upload your video or build a playlist, add your YouTube stream key, and go live. Nothing has to stay on at home; it streams any uploaded quality up to 4K 60fps at one price per slot; and it automatically recovers if YouTube drops the stream. The first day is free with no card. Monthly billing is $9.99 per month. Start your free day with StreamNeo.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does an upload-duration limit tell me how long a 24/7 stream can run?

No. It limits an individual file; a service may loop files or use a playlist for a longer broadcast.

Can a continuous YouTube stream have a complete replay?

Not necessarily. Restream’s YouTube guidance says streams under 12 hours are archived; plan broadcast breaks if a complete replay matters.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.