PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchNo verified ranking of the five most expensive Olympic opening ceremonies exists on the evidence currently available. A ranking would need final costs for five ceremonies, each stated on the same basis. The published figures do not supply that. What exists are a few allocations and estimates covering different scopes, and they cannot be placed in order against each other without distorting what they measure. This article explains why, sets out the figures on record, and gives a method for judging any cost claim you meet, including one repeated in a documentary.
What a fair ranking would need to establish
Four tests have to be passed before two ceremony costs can be compared. Each one changes the meaning of a number.
- Scope. Does the figure cover the opening ceremony alone, both the Olympic and Paralympic ceremonies together, or the ceremony plus venues, transport and permanent infrastructure?
- Status. Is the number a budget, an allocation, an estimate, a contingency scenario, or a final outturn (the audited total actually spent)?
- Currency and price year. Pounds and euros must be converted, and the year the prices are stated in must be known. Many published figures state neither.
- Included elements. Production, staging, broadcast, security and infrastructure are often counted differently from one Games to the next.
The sources available for this assessment do not pass these tests for five Games. That is the core reason no top-five list can be stated as fact.
The cost figures on record
Three figures tied to specific Games are established in the sources. They are not interchangeable.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Figure | Games | What it covers | Status | Price year | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| £41 million, including £7 million held in contingency | London 2012 | Olympic and Paralympic ceremonies combined | Allocation made available to support delivery | Not stated | UK Government, 2012 |
| €120–130 million | Paris 2024 | The planned river parade | Reported estimate | Not stated | Le Monde, 2024 |
| More than €255 million | Paris 2024 | A reduced Plan B scenario | Contingency scenario, not an actual cost | Not stated | Le Monde, 2024 |
How to read each figure
London 2012: an allocation for two ceremonies
The UK Government’s £41 million was made available for the Olympic and Paralympic ceremonies together, and it includes a £7 million contingency reserve. It records what was set aside, not what was spent on either ceremony. Splitting it into an Olympic-only figure would require a breakdown that the available sources do not provide, so it should not be placed beside a single-ceremony cost.
Paris 2024: an estimate for the planned river parade
The €120–130 million range reported by Le Monde in 2024 is an estimate for the river parade that was planned as Paris’s opening ceremony on the Seine. It is a projection made before the event’s accounts were settled, and the reporting does not present it as a verified total. It is the closest match in kind to an opening-ceremony cost among the figures here, but it is still an estimate.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Paris 2024 Plan B: a fallback, not a bill
The figure of more than €255 million attached to a reduced Plan B scenario describes a contingency alternative. Quoting it as what the Paris ceremony cost would overstate the spending by a wide margin, because it describes a plan that was not the one delivered as the ceremony’s reported estimate.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to check a cost claim before you repeat it
- Identify the source type. Official government or organising-committee documents are primary sources. Press reports are secondary, and they often quote a primary figure without its scope.
- Name the status. Ask whether the number is a budget, allocation, estimate, contingency scenario or final outturn. Only final outturns describe money actually spent.
- Confirm the scope. Look for the words “ceremony”, “ceremonies”, “combined”, “including venues” or “infrastructure” in the original wording.
- Find the currency and price year. If neither is stated, record the price year as not stated rather than assuming one.
- Compare only like with like. If two figures differ in any of the four tests above, they cannot be ranked against each other.
Applying this method to the three figures above shows that none of them can be placed on a common scale with the others. A documentary or article that presents them as a league table is combining figures that measure different things.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Until official final accounts exist for five opening ceremonies on a consistent scope, the honest version of this topic is a set of labelled figures, not a top five.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




