What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Artists and organizations canceled, withdrew from or relocated Kennedy Center engagements in waves after Donald Trump moved to overhaul the center’s board and became its chair in February 2025. A later wave followed the board’s December 2025 vote to add Trump’s name to the building. The reasons and outcomes differed by event: some performers cited political or institutional objections, while other accounts involved contract handling, ticket sales, refunds, donations, scheduling or artist availability. No verified, complete cancellation count through October 4, 2026, is available.
What changed at the Kennedy Center?
In February 2025, Trump announced a board overhaul and plan to make himself chair. Performers and organizations then began canceling, postponing or moving scheduled engagements. The Washington Post reported at the time that more than 20 productions had been canceled or postponed. That was a dated report about the situation then—not a verified total for the later years.
In December 2025, the board voted to add Trump’s name to the building. The Washington Post and other outlets subsequently reported further departures. The available reporting does not establish one complete list or show that every departure was a political protest.
Which artists and organizations canceled or moved shows?
These examples show different kinds of changes. “Moved” means another venue was identified; “canceled” or “withdrew” does not necessarily mean the same performance was rescheduled elsewhere.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Artist or organization | What happened | Reported explanation or context |
|---|---|---|
| Rhiannon Giddens | She canceled her May 11, 2025 Kennedy Center performance and moved it to The Anthem. | Giddens said the Kennedy Center engagement had been booked before the administration’s takeover. She announced the move herself. |
| International Pride Orchestra | Its performance moved to Strathmore in Bethesda. | Organizer Michael Roest said he had been awaiting a final contract after months of planning when the center stopped advancing it. He reported receiving an email saying, “We are no longer able to advance your contract at this time.” The Associated Press noted that the center did not respond to its request for comment. |
| Hamilton | Lead producer Jeffrey Seller canceled the planned March 3–April 26, 2026 Kennedy Center run. | Seller said the production could not participate in the venue’s new culture and that he could not trust contracts and prior agreements. He also described the decision as a business one, citing the potential effects of contract disruption on hundreds of employees. These are Seller’s explanations. |
| Vocal Arts DC | It canceled the remainder of its Terrace Theater season after the December 2025 naming vote. | The Washington Post reported that the organization cited lower ticket sales, refund requests and reduced donations. Its account reflects financial considerations as well as the controversy surrounding the name. |
| Kristy Lee | She canceled a free show scheduled for January 14, 2026, according to ABC’s later recap. | The Washington Post also reported her cancellation after the naming vote. The available reporting summarized here does not provide further detail on her stated reason. |
| Doug Varone and Dancers | ABC reported that the company canceled April performances. | The report does not specify a reason in the available account. |
| The Cookers | The group withdrew from a planned New Year’s Eve show, according to a December 30–31 public-media roundup. | The roundup reported the withdrawal amid the dispute over the building’s name; it does not establish a fuller explanation here. |
| Chuck Redd | He canceled after Trump’s name appeared on the venue, according to the same public-media roundup. | The Kennedy Center then announced a plan to sue him. The center spokesperson’s condemnation and a letter from Richard Grenell represent the center leadership’s views, not neutral findings about the dispute. |
ABC’s recap also named Issa Rae and Low Cut Connie among earlier withdrawals, alongside Giddens and Hamilton. The available account does not specify further event details or explanations for those two names. Resignations from advisory or board positions are related fallout, but they are not canceled performances.
Why did the engagements change?
The accounts point to several distinct pathways, and the explanation for one event should not be applied to another.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Political or institutional objections: Seller said Hamilton could not, “in good conscience,” be part of the culture being imposed at the Kennedy Center. Giddens publicly announced her decision to move her performance.
- Contract handling: Roest described the International Pride Orchestra contract as no longer being advanced and said the performance moved to Strathmore. His account is an organizer’s report; the center did not respond to AP’s request for comment.
- Sales and availability: In early 2025, Kennedy Center public relations vice president Roma Daravi told The Washington Post that the center’s own cancellations under its programming umbrella since February 12 were due to lack of sales or artist availability. That statement describes cancellations Daravi attributed to the center, not every artist- or organizer-initiated withdrawal.
- Ticketing and donations: Vocal Arts DC cited lower sales, refund requests and reduced donations when canceling the rest of its season, according to The Washington Post.
Those distinctions matter: an artist’s protest, a venue’s programming decision, a contract that is not advanced and a financial decision can all lead to a show disappearing from the schedule, but they are not interchangeable explanations.
What is the latest status of the Kennedy Center Honors?
In October 2026, the Associated Press reported that the 49th Kennedy Center Honors were to take place at Capital One Arena rather than inside the Kennedy Center building. AP said an explanation for the venue change was not immediately available and reported that a legal dispute over adding Trump’s name to the building continued. The venue change is not itself evidence that artist cancellations caused the Honors to move.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is there a definitive count of canceled Kennedy Center shows?
No complete, independently verified cumulative count through October 4, 2026, is established by the available reporting. The Washington Post’s figure of more than 20 productions canceled or postponed belongs to its February–March 2025 coverage and should not be presented as a current total. News roundups identify examples, not a reconciled ledger of every cancellation, postponement, relocation or venue decision.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




