PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchArchive of Our Own (AO3), the fanfiction archive run by the nonprofit Organization for Transformative Works (OTW), does not prohibit AI-generated fanworks. OTW’s stated reasons are that such works fall within its mission to preserve fan creativity, and that a ban cannot be enforced because there is no reliable way to tell when AI was used. That position angered writers in 2023, and OTW restated it in 2025.
What triggered the 2023 backlash
In May 2023, Futurism’s Sharon Adarlo reported that writers threatened to remove their stories from AO3 after OTW publicized an interview excerpt featuring Betsy Rosenblatt, then chair of OTW’s legal committee and a law professor at the University of Tulsa. In the excerpt, Rosenblatt said she was excited that AIs were reading fanfiction. Writers who objected were worried about AI companies training models on fan-written work, and some also objected to the archive hosting generated fanworks at all.
Those are two different objections. The first concerns training: fan writers did not want their stories feeding datasets. The second concerns hosting: whether a platform built for human fan writing should carry text produced by a generator. The individual reactions quoted in the Futurism report are those users’ views and do not amount to a poll of writers.
What OTW said in response
OTW deleted the interview excerpt and apologized. It then published a post describing technical measures to hinder large-scale scraping. The same post said AO3’s Terms of Service did not prohibit AI-generated fanfiction and that such works were within OTW’s preservation mission. As quoted by Futurism, the organization wrote:
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
“If fans are using AI to generate fanworks, then our current position is that this is also a type of work that is within our mandate to preserve.”
The 2025 position and why OTW says a ban will not work
In answers published with the minutes of its April 26, 2025 board meeting, OTW said there were “no plans to change AO3’s rules on using AI to create works.” Its reasoning rests on enforcement rather than on a view that generated work is acceptable in every case:
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- AI use cannot be reliably detected.
- Available detectors produce false positives, and those errors fall disproportionately on writers who speak English as a second language, less experienced writers, and neurodivergent writers.
- OTW says it will not consider a policy it cannot reasonably and fairly implement.
The central sentence in the answer reads: “Until such time as there is a reliable way to detect AI usage, it is not possible to enforce a ban against AI.” The full answers are in OTW’s Board Meeting Minutes: 26 April 2025, published May 28, 2025.
Scraping is a separate question
Allowing AI-generated stories on AO3 is not the same as allowing AI companies to take works from it. In the same board-meeting answers, OTW said it had added a Cloudflare tool to prevent AI scraping and other bots. It acknowledged that the tool is not perfect and that stronger solutions could significantly affect some users, especially people on older devices.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The minutes also note that most scrapers are not logged in and therefore cannot view locked works. Locking a work significantly reduces the chance of scraping but does not eliminate it. Readers should treat these as the protections OTW describes, with stated limits, rather than as a guarantee.
The sources establish AO3’s posting policy and its scraping measures. They do not establish a broader permission for AI companies to use hosted works, and the posting policy does not mean AO3 endorses scraping.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How another fanfiction community handles it
The Silmarillion Writers’ Guild takes the opposite posting position. Its published AI policy prohibits wholly or partially AI-generated fanworks and sets out removal and a strike for violations. The Guild also says AI-detection software does not reliably identify generated works, and that its moderators will not use such software to decide removals.
The two communities chose different rules but face the same verification problem. The Guild is one documented example and should not be read as representative of all fanfiction sites.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Question | AO3 (OTW) | Silmarillion Writers’ Guild |
|---|---|---|
| Written rule for AI-generated works | Allowed under the Terms of Service, according to OTW’s 2023 post and 2025 board-meeting answers | Wholly or partially AI-generated fanworks prohibited |
| Definition of what counts as AI | Not stated in the OTW statements cited here | Not stated in the Guild policy page cited here |
| Enforcement | No ban is enforced; OTW says a ban cannot be enforced without reliable detection | Removal and a strike for violations |
| Detection software | Not used as a basis for a ban; OTW says available detectors produce false positives | Not reliable; moderators will not use it to decide removals |
| Scraping protections | Cloudflare bot tool, not perfect; locking reduces but does not eliminate scraping (April 2025 minutes) | Not stated in the Guild policy page cited here |
What to check before relying on this
- The most recent official OTW statement cited here is from its April 2025 board meeting. Policies can change after a statement like this, so check AO3’s current Terms of Service before treating the position as settled.
- Look for later OTW board minutes or announcements, which would show whether the position on AI-generated works or the scraping measures have changed.
- Community rules for other fanfiction sites differ. Check each site’s own terms before posting there.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




