Recommended Free Tools
World War Z: Aftermath is an expanded edition of the original game, not a separate story sequel. It includes the content of World War Z: Game of the Year Edition and adds two story episodes, new melee and camera options, class progression, and Horde Mode XL on selected platforms. Focus Entertainment, the publisher, calls it “the next evolution of the original hit World War Z.” The launch date on its product page is September 21, 2021, so store prices and upgrade terms may have changed since then.
Is Aftermath a sequel or DLC?
Neither label fits cleanly. The publisher’s wording describes Aftermath as an evolution of the original game, and its official pages do not classify it technically as a standalone application or as an add-on package. In practice, think of it as a fuller version of World War Z that absorbs the Game of the Year Edition. If you own the original or the Game of the Year Edition, the question that matters is not what Aftermath is called but whether your store offers you an upgrade route and what it costs.
What Aftermath adds
The table below separates content the publisher ties to Aftermath from content it attributes to the earlier release. Where the sources reviewed do not describe a feature for the original game, the cell says so rather than assuming it is missing.
| Area | Original World War Z and Game of the Year Edition | World War Z: Aftermath |
|---|---|---|
| Campaign episodes | Full episodes named by the publisher include New York, Moscow, Marseille, Jerusalem, and Tokyo | Those five episodes plus Rome (including Vatican City) and Kamchatka |
| Melee combat | Not stated in the official sources reviewed | New melee system with two-handed and dual-wield weapons |
| Perspective | Not stated in the official sources reviewed | Optional first-person mode alongside the standard view |
| Classes | Not stated in the official sources reviewed | Eight classes, including the new Vanguard |
| Horde Mode XL | Not stated in the official sources reviewed | Listed for PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S |
The two episodes are the most concrete new story content. The melee and first-person options change how fights play rather than adding new locations, so they matter most if you already know the original’s combat well.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Platform differences
Platform is the most likely point of confusion. The original is available on Nintendo Switch, according to Saber’s FAQ, while Aftermath is listed there for other platforms. Horde Mode XL is not available everywhere Aftermath is.
| Platform | Original World War Z | Aftermath | Horde Mode XL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nintendo Switch | Available (Saber FAQ) | Not listed in Saber’s FAQ | Not listed |
| PlayStation 5 | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Listed (Saber FAQ) | Listed |
| Xbox Series X|S | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Listed (Saber FAQ) | Listed |
| PC | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Listed (Saber FAQ) | Listed |
| Amazon Luna | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Listed (Saber FAQ) | Not stated |
Switch also sits outside cross-play: Saber’s FAQ says it does not play with other platforms.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How to upgrade or buy, step by step
- Identify your current copy: the original World War Z, the Game of the Year Edition, or neither, and on which platform.
- Open your platform’s store and search for “World War Z: Aftermath.” Look for an upgrade or discounted listing. Xbox Wire’s launch coverage reported that original and Game of the Year owners could buy Aftermath at a discount on the same platform. That was a launch-time announcement, so treat it as a route to check, not a guaranteed price.
- Compare the Aftermath and Aftermath Deluxe listings. The publisher’s purchase page offers both, but the sources reviewed do not spell out what Deluxe adds, so read the store’s contents list before buying.
- Choose a format. The official purchase page offers a physical copy, but availability varies by store and country, and not every platform has one.
- If you are on Xbox Series X|S or PS5 and want a next-generation upgrade, check the eligibility rules in your store. Saber’s FAQ says Aftermath is required for the Xbox Series X|S free next-generation upgrade and that PS5 has a separate upgrade.
What is not established
Cross-play and cross-progression are different things. Cross-play lets players in different platform groups play together. Cross-progression would carry saves, purchases, or progress between platforms. The official sources reviewed do not establish whether saves or progression transfer between platforms. If you plan to switch platforms, contact Saber with your exact platform pair before buying, because a purchase on one system may not follow you to another.
Current prices, upgrade eligibility, and physical-copy availability depend on your store and region and may have changed since the September 2021 launch. Check the listing in your own store before you pay.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




