Wordle is still free to play as a daily puzzle, but the word “initially” in the 2022 announcement was narrower than it sounds. When The New York Times bought the game on January 31, 2022, it said Wordle would be free to new and existing players at the time it moved to the Times, and that its gameplay would not change. That was a commitment about the transition, not a promise of free access forever. At the time of writing, the NYT Games help page still lists the daily puzzle among the games available without a Games subscription. The paid tier affects extras, not the daily puzzle itself.
What the game is and where it came from
Software engineer Josh Wardle created Wordle for his partner, Palak Shah, who enjoyed word puzzles. The rules are simple. Players get six attempts to guess a five-letter word. After each guess, the game shows which letters appear in the answer and which of those sit in the correct position.
What the 2022 statement actually promised
The Washington Post’s report on the acquisition, published January 31, 2022, quotes the Times statement this way: “at the time it moves to The New York Times, Wordle will be free to play for new and existing players, and no changes will be made to its gameplay.”
Read closely, that sentence makes three commitments, and only one of them is about the future. The first is that the move itself would not require payment from anyone, new or existing players alike. The second is that gameplay would stay as it was at migration. The third, implied by “initially” in the headline wording most readers remember, is that the statement addressed a specific moment rather than a standing policy. Nothing in the sentence says the daily puzzle would be free indefinitely.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Wardle said at the time that he was working to preserve existing wins and streaks during the transition. That, too, described the migration rather than a permanent arrangement.
How the acquisition unfolded
- October 2021: Wardle made the game public.
- November 1, 2021: The Times reported, as quoted by the Post in 2022, that 90 people played that day.
- January 3, 2022: The audience had grown past 300,000, according to the same reporting.
- January 31, 2022: The Times announced the purchase. The price was not disclosed. The Times described it as “in the low-seven figures,” as reported by the Post. The Post also reported that the game then had millions of daily players, without a more precise figure.
- July 2022: Hasbro and NYT Games announced a licensed physical version, Wordle: The Party Game.
What is free today and what costs money
The NYT Games help page is the primary source for the current access rules. Those rules can change, so check the page before relying on them for a specific decision.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The daily puzzle
The help page lists Wordle among the daily puzzles available for free to people without a Games subscription. This is the same daily game players knew before the acquisition: one puzzle per day, with the original rules.
Wordle Bot and subscriber features
Full Wordle Bot features require an eligible NYT Games or All Access subscription, according to the same help page. The free daily puzzle is not the same thing as full Bot access, so readers who want the extra tools should check which subscription tier includes them.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Accounts, progress and streaks
Logging in saves progress, statistics and streaks across devices. Without a login, progress is stored locally on the device and may be lost if the browser data is cleared or the device changes. Anyone with a long streak should sign in before switching phones or computers.
Daily Wordle compared with Wordle: The Party Game
The physical game is a separate product. It does not unlock or replace the online daily puzzle.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Feature | Daily online Wordle | Wordle: The Party Game |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Digital, one puzzle per day | Physical tabletop game with dry-erase boards |
| Players | Solo | 2 to 4 players, per Hasbro’s product page |
| Age guidance | Not stated | Ages 14 and up, per Hasbro’s product page |
| Cadence | One daily puzzle | Repeatable rounds |
| Cost model | Free daily puzzle; subscription needed for full Wordle Bot features | Purchased product; retail price and stock vary by retailer and are not stated here |
| Contents | Not applicable | Three Wordle boards, three shields, one secret-word board, three dry-erase markers, 45 green tiles, 45 yellow tiles, and a game guide, per Hasbro’s product page |
Usage figures and how to read them
Audience numbers for Wordle come from different dates and different kinds of measurement, so they should not be read as one continuous series.
| Figure | Date | Source | What it measures |
|---|---|---|---|
| 90 players | November 1, 2021 | The Times, as quoted by The Washington Post, 2022 | Players on one day |
| More than 300,000 players | January 3, 2022 | The Times, as quoted by The Washington Post, 2022 | Audience at that point |
| Millions of daily players | At the January 31, 2022 announcement | The Times, as reported by The Washington Post, 2022 | Daily players, no more precise figure given |
| 4.2 billion plays | Calendar year 2025, reported January 2026 | The Associated Press, 2026 | Total plays, not unique players |
The 4.2 billion figure counts plays, so one person who plays every day for a year adds about 365 to that total. It does not tell you how many distinct people played.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What NYT Games has said since the acquisition
In the Associated Press’s January 2026 report, Jonathan Knight, head of NYT Games, said: “We want to make sure that everything we do is human-crafted.” He also said: “We’re respectful of your time.” Those remarks describe the editorial approach behind the daily puzzle, not a commitment about pricing.
Wardle’s own reaction to the scale of the game, reported by the Post in 2022, was: “The game has gotten bigger than I ever imagined.”
Where the free-access question stands
The 2022 announcement covered the move to the Times and promised no change to gameplay. The current NYT Games help page lists the daily puzzle as free without a subscription, and it places full Wordle Bot features behind a paid tier. If you want the daily game, it is free to play. If you want Bot tools, a physical group version, or account-based streak syncing across devices, those are the points where cost enters the picture.
Two points are worth keeping separate: a free daily puzzle is the current access model, while a 2022 statement about the transition is the only explicit promise. Neither one is a guarantee of how the game will be offered in the future.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




