Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Short answer: the “way worse” complaint is a reaction to the remake’s art direction, camera, and color choices, not a settled technical finding. The 2024 remake of Until Dawn added more detailed models, environments, and effects, but some players feel it lost the look and mood of the 2015 original. Whether that trade-off reads as an upgrade or a downgrade depends on what you value in a horror image, and the evidence available does not decide that for everyone.
What the remake changed, according to its publisher
PlayStation’s launch announcement, dated August 14, 2024, describes the game as a “cinematic update” rather than a simple port. It says the remake was rebuilt in Unreal Engine 5 for PS5 and PC, with updated character models, environments, interactable props, visual effects, and animations. It also describes a third-person camera and new or expanded locations and interactions. Read PlayStation’s announcement on its blog.
The stated aim is explicit:
“Instead, we have focused on giving the original game a cinematic update, offering the player a more intimate experience by enhancing the visual storytelling.”
— PlayStation, launch announcement, August 14, 2024
That is the publisher’s description of its own goal. It is not independent evidence that the result looks better, and it is the starting point for the complaint: the remake was designed to change how the game is framed and lit, not only to sharpen it.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Why more detail can still look worse
Higher-fidelity assets and a more cinematic presentation can pull in different directions. A remake can carry richer textures and effects while changing the color balance, the lighting mood, or the way the camera frames a scene. Viewers who remember the original’s specific atmosphere may notice those shifts before they notice any gain in detail.
Review coverage cited for this piece describes changes in color and camera presentation as the main differences from the original. Audience discussion shows the disagreement plainly: some commenters prefer the remake’s technical improvements, while others object to the altered art direction. Those comments illustrate the argument; they are not a survey of players.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Four axes that matter in a fair comparison
- Detail and materials: character models, textures, effects, and environmental props.
- Color and lighting: whether the image keeps the original’s intended mood and readability in dark scenes.
- Composition and camera: how the original’s fixed, cinematic framing compares with the remake’s more mobile third-person camera.
- Performance and platform: frame rate, stability, patch version, and whether the comparison is on PS5 or PC.
Most “looks worse” arguments mix these axes together. A player may be reacting to the camera while assuming the problem is the models, or to a frame-rate issue while judging the art. Separating them makes the disagreement easier to assess.
Check the version before you compare
Platform and patch differences can change how a scene feels in motion, which affects perceived visual quality. The table below lists only what the cited coverage states.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Version | Platform | Frame rate reported | Source and scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 original | PS5 via backwards compatibility | Can run at 60 fps | Push Square’s PS5 review; describes the original as able to run at 60 fps through PS5 backwards compatibility |
| 2024 remake | PS5 | Targets 30 fps | Push Square’s PS5 review; the 30 fps target is the reviewer’s reported figure |
| 2024 remake, PS5 after patch 1.05 | PS5 | Frame pacing with the 30 fps cap was uneven; the patch fixed some of this, but issues persisted | Digital Foundry’s technical review; reflects the build it tested |
| 2024 remake | PC | Not stated | Digital Foundry’s review also analyzes PC, but the frame-rate figures are not stated in the coverage cited here |
Watch the Digital Foundry analysis on YouTube, and read the Push Square review at pushsquare.com. Both describe the builds they tested, so a later patch may change the picture.
A practical side-by-side method
- Choose one platform. Compare PS5 original (through backwards compatibility) with PS5 remake, or the remake on PC, not across both.
- Note the build. Record the patch version of the remake you are running.
- Match the scene. Use the same chapter, lighting, and camera position. Dark, low-light sequences show color and lighting differences most clearly.
- Judge motion separately. Watch the same pan or walk at both frame rates before drawing conclusions about the models.
How the complaint is worded
The phrase “way worse” is informal reader language, and it appears alongside related wording in discussion of the remake: “the original looks better,” “why does everyone think the remake is inferior,” and “is it me, or is the original more visually pleasing?” The r/Games thread that uses the “way worse” framing shows that such comparisons are being made. It cannot show how widespread the view is, and it is a snapshot of one discussion rather than a current measure of opinion.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What is and is not established
- Established: the publisher rebuilt the game in Unreal Engine 5 and updated models, environments, props, effects, and animation, as stated in its August 14, 2024 announcement.
- Established: frame-rate and patch behavior differed between the original and the remake on PS5, as reported by the reviews cited above.
- Not established: that most players or critics find the remake visually inferior. No representative survey or measured poll was identified, so “some players” and “critics” are the accurate terms.
- Not established: any specific percentage of players who prefer the original’s look.
The remake itself is available as a physical release for PS5 under the title Until Dawn (2024), which makes side-by-side comparison with the 2015 original on the same console straightforward for readers who own both versions.
”
The Bottom Line
“Way worse” is a fair description of how some players and critics feel, but not a measured verdict. The remake’s technical upgrades and its altered color, lighting, and camera are separate questions, and judging them on the same platform, with the same patch, gives the most reliable answer.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.





