Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsSome links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
In the U.S., the latest listing checked on August 2, 2026, shows Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (2022) streaming in 4K on Paramount+ Premium and available to rent in 4K through Apple TV Store and Fandango at Home. Netflix, Philo, Paramount+ Essential, and Amazon Video’s direct rental and purchase listings are shown as HD. Prices and catalog formats can change, so confirm the title’s resolution on the service before subscribing or paying.
Where to watch Sonic the Hedgehog 2 in the U.S.
The options below reflect U.S. catalog listings checked August 2, 2026. Availability and storefront labels are separate: a service can carry the film without offering it in 4K on every plan, channel, or device.
| Option | Access | Listed format | Observed price | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paramount+ Premium | Subscription | 4K | $13.99/month | Subscribers who want 4K and will watch other titles |
| Paramount+ Essential | Subscription | HD | $8.99/month | Viewers content with HD |
| Netflix | Subscription | HD | Not stated in the title listing | Existing subscribers who are fine with HD |
| Philo | Subscription | HD | $8.99/month listed | Existing subscribers who are fine with HD |
| Paramount+ Amazon Channel; Paramount+ Roku Premium Channel | Subscription channel | Listed as available; confirm format in that channel | Not stated | Viewers already using those channel services |
| Apple TV Store | Rent or buy | 4K | $4.99 rent; $16.99 buy | One-off 4K viewing or digital purchase |
| Fandango at Home | Rent or buy | 4K | $4.99 rent; $16.99 buy | One-off 4K viewing or digital purchase |
| Amazon Video / Prime Video direct listing | Rent or buy | HD | $4.99 rent; $16.99 buy | One-off HD viewing through a familiar storefront |
| 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray | Physical disc | 4K UHD | Varies by retailer | Collectors, repeat viewers, or unreliable internet |
The prices are observed U.S. listing signals, not guaranteed current prices; taxes, promotions, devices, and storefronts may affect what appears at checkout. The subscription figures and one-time prices above were listed by JustWatch in its August 2, 2026 check; Amazon’s HD rental and purchase prices also appear on its Prime Video title page.
Which options are actually listed in 4K?
For this U.S. title, the current listing identifies Paramount+ Premium, Apple TV Store rental and purchase, and Fandango at Home rental and purchase as 4K. The direct Amazon Video rental and purchase entries, Netflix, Philo, and Paramount+ Essential are listed as HD. Paramount+ Amazon Channel and Paramount+ Roku Premium Channel also appear as subscription routes, but do not assume their format matches the standalone Paramount+ listing.
#1 Best Overall
- Genre: Action / Adventure
- Number of Discs: 1
- Number of Tracks: 0
- Playback Duration: 122
- Rating: PG
These are catalog labels, not a guarantee of the resolution your device will play. Check the title’s format badges in the specific app or storefront you intend to use. “HD” does not itself promise a particular bitrate or exact 1920×1080 output; Full HD commonly means 1920×1080. 4K UHD generally means about 3840×2160. HDR and Dolby Atmos are separate features: look for their badges rather than inferring them from a 4K label.
Choose the right way to watch
Paramount+ Premium for subscription 4K
Paramount+ Premium is the 4K subscription listing. It makes sense if you already subscribe or expect to watch other Paramount+ titles. The film is on Paramount+’s official title page, but that page does not establish 4K access for every plan or device. Confirm that your account is on Premium and check for the 4K/UHD badge in the app.
Rank #2
- Genre: Action / Adventure
- Number of Discs: 1
- Playback Duration: 220
- Rating: PG
- Number of Movies: 2
For a single viewing, a $4.99 4K rental is likely the simpler, lower-cost route than starting a monthly subscription. Plan names, prices, and catalog availability can change, and the film may not remain in the service indefinitely.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Apple TV Store for a 4K rental or purchase
The U.S. Apple TV Store listing is identified as 4K for both rental and purchase. Select the 2022 sequel, then verify the format badges beside the actual rent or buy choice before payment. A digital purchase is access through the seller’s platform, not an unrestricted video file or physical copy.
Rank #3
- FORMAT COMPATIBILITY: Region-free Blu-ray disc playable on all Blu-ray players worldwide, delivering high-definition picture and sound quality
- RATING: PG-rated family entertainment suitable for all ages, featuring action-packed adventures with beloved video game characters
- STAR-STUDDED CAST: Features performances from James Marsden, Ben Schwartz, Idris Elba, and Jim Carrey in this high-energy sequel
- SPECIAL EFFECTS: Showcases stunning visual effects and animation, bringing the iconic blue hedgehog and his friends to life in spectacular detail
- RUNTIME: Action-packed entertainment featuring Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles in an epic adventure spanning approximately 2 hours
Fandango at Home for a 4K rental or purchase
Fandango at Home is also listed for 4K rental and purchase. Its UHD guidance explains that 4K, HDR, and Dolby Atmos icons indicate which features are available; an absent or greyed-out icon means the feature is not enabled for that title or setup. The service recommends at least 11 Mbps broadband for 4K playback, but actual results depend on connection stability and device behavior.
Amazon Video for an HD one-off
The direct Prime Video listing shows HD rental and purchase, not 4K, at the observed prices. Choose it if HD is sufficient and you want a one-time transaction in a service you already use. Do not treat a Paramount+ channel subscription inside Amazon as interchangeable with Amazon’s direct rental listing; check that channel’s own format information.
Rank #4
Netflix and Philo for existing subscribers
Netflix and Philo are listed as subscription sources in HD. Netflix is not listed as 4K for this film, including its Netflix Standard with Ads entry. A 4K-capable television, plan, or app setting cannot turn an HD catalog version into a 4K version.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →4K UHD Blu-ray for physical playback
Paramount announced 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray, and DVD editions for August 9, 2022. Its announcement says the digital, 4K UHD, and Blu-ray editions include nearly an hour of bonus features, including the animated short “Sonic Drone Home.” A 4K disc requires a UHD Blu-ray player for its full presentation and a 4K display for the image benefit; unlike streaming, it does not rely on catalog availability or internet speed. It takes physical storage and a disc drive, but can provide a more consistent bitrate than a stream.
Best Value
- action adventure, comedy, family, fantasy, science fiction
See Paramount’s release announcement for the disc formats and bonus-feature details.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What is the cheapest option?
- One-time HD viewing: Amazon Video’s direct rental was listed at $4.99.
- One-time 4K viewing: Apple TV Store and Fandango at Home rentals were each listed at $4.99.
- Subscription 4K: Paramount+ Premium was listed at $13.99 per month; this is most economical if you already subscribe or plan to use the service beyond this film.
- Subscription HD: Paramount+ Essential and Philo were listed at $8.99 per month.
- Digital 4K purchase: Apple TV Store and Fandango at Home were listed at $16.99.
- Physical 4K ownership: UHD Blu-ray pricing varies by retailer.
Prices are dynamic and may vary by promotion, device, storefront, tax, and rental versus purchase. A “buy” button means a platform-specific digital license; it is not the same as owning a disc or receiving an unrestricted file.
What you need for 4K playback
- A 4K-capable television or monitor.
- A compatible smart-TV app or external streaming device, with the service app up to date.
- The plan tier required for 4K when watching by subscription.
- A compatible HDMI cable, receiver, and display path if using an external player; any limiting component can prevent 4K or HDR output.
- Sufficient, stable broadband. Fandango recommends a minimum of 11 Mbps for its UHD playback, but that is guidance rather than a universal guarantee.
- HDR-compatible equipment if you want HDR. Dolby Atmos requires compatible playback and audio equipment, and should be selected only when the title listing advertises it.
On Paramount+, open the official movie page, sign in, search for the 2022 film, verify the Premium plan and title format badges, then start playback and check your TV or device’s signal information if you want to confirm output. On Apple TV Store or Fandango at Home, check the title’s 4K/UHD and any HDR or audio badges on the specific rent or buy screen before paying. Fandango says playback falls back to the best quality supported by the device, but exact fallback resolution and HDR behavior vary by platform.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →If the 4K badge is missing or playback looks like HD
- Check whether your plan is eligible for 4K and whether you are using the standalone service or a channel version.
- Confirm the app, streaming device, TV, and HDMI/receiver chain support the desired format.
- Restart the app and device, and check the service’s playback-quality indicator.
- If 4K buffers, try wired Ethernet, move the router closer, reduce other network use, or choose HD for steadier playback.
Runtime, rating, and identifying the right title
This is the 2022 feature film, not an animated Sonic television series with a similar search result. Paramount’s official page identifies it as PG and lists a runtime of 2 hours 2 minutes; Prime Video displays 1 hour 55 minutes. Storefront runtime metadata is inconsistent.
Is there a free legal stream?
The latest U.S. JustWatch listing checked August 2, 2026 showed no free legal streaming option. That can change, and availability differs by country. Stick to official services and storefronts; unauthorized “free full movie” sites can involve copyright infringement, deceptive download buttons, or malware.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

