Prince William resumed public-facing engagements on April 18, 2024, nearly four weeks after Catherine, Princess of Wales, announced on March 22, 2024, that she had cancer and was receiving treatment. His first reported visits included a food charity in Surrey and a youth centre in west London. Contemporary coverage described a return to public duties—not proof that he had stopped every form of official or administrative work.
What happened, and when?
Catherine announced her diagnosis in a video message released by Kensington Palace on March 22, 2024. She said post-operative tests had found cancer, described the news as a shock, and asked for time, space and privacy for her family. She did not disclose the cancer type, stage or treatment regimen. ABC News Australia reported on the announcement.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
The Prince of Preachers: A Biography of Charles Haddon Spurgeon | $17.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Spare | $11.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Prince of Wales: A Biography | $17.74 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
William and Kate: A Royal Love Story | $10.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
LIFE Prince William & Kate: Their 10th Anniversary | $14.99 | Buy on Amazon |
William had taken time away from public-facing duties to support Catherine and their children. He returned to public engagements on April 18, 2024. The interval between the announcement and his first reported public visits was 27 days.
Key dates
- January 2024: Catherine underwent planned abdominal surgery and stepped away from public duties; the reason for the surgery was not disclosed at the time.
- March 22, 2024: Catherine announced that post-operative tests had found cancer and that she was receiving treatment.
- April 18, 2024: William resumed public-facing engagements, including visits to Surplus to Supper and a youth centre.
ABC News’ timeline provides further context on Catherine’s surgery and announcement.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
Where did William go on April 18?
William visited Surplus to Supper, a food charity in Surrey, and a youth centre in west London. CBS News and ITV News reported on the visits. CBS News’ account and ITV News’ report describe the engagements.
ITV reported that the palace had indicated William would return after the school holidays on a reduced timetable while continuing to support Catherine. That was contemporary guidance, not a published detailed schedule; it does not establish a precise workload or timetable.
Rank #2
Did William stop all royal work?
The reporting describes time away from public-facing duties and a return to public engagements. It does not establish that William stopped every kind of official, private or administrative work during that period. For that reason, “returned to public engagements” is more precise than saying he resumed all royal work.
The Royal Household’s 2023–24 annual report records more than 2,300 public engagements by working members of the Royal Family collectively, and 464 official engagements for King Charles III. Neither figure measures William’s individual workload, his schedule around April 2024, or the effect of his return. The Royal Household annual report presents those household-level figures.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
Was Catherine returning to duties at the same time?
No. William’s April 18 return was a separate matter from Catherine’s recovery and schedule. Contemporary reporting said Catherine would return to public duties when cleared by her medical team; it did not give a return date. William’s visits should not be read as evidence that Catherine had recovered or resumed work. TIME’s contemporary coverage reported the medical-clearance guidance.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




