October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
Admit one · Blog

What Streaming Cost in 2025: Netflix, Disney+, Max and More Compared

Streaming prices changed throughout 2025. Compare U.S. monthly tiers, annual-plan trade-offs, bundles and practical lineup costs without confusing historical rates with 2026 prices.
Opened Runtime9 min Written byDocumentaryTube Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There was no single “2025 price” for streaming: several U.S. services raised rates during the year, and existing subscribers could keep older or promotional prices for a time. The clearest comparison is a dated one. This guide separates prices in effect before and after documented 2025 changes, and treats Prime Video as part of an Amazon Prime membership rather than a standalone subscription.

Prices below are advertised U.S. list prices before applicable taxes. Historical figures are not offers for 2026; check the linked service pages for current plans and eligibility.

How to compare streaming prices

This comparison covers subscription video-on-demand plans, including ad-supported options, plus Prime Video where it comes with a broader Amazon Prime membership. It does not combine unlike products: Hulu on-demand is separate from Hulu + Live TV; Prime membership is not just a video plan; and sports, live-TV packages, premium channels, rentals, and add-ons may cost extra.

“Ad-free” is not always literal. Live sports and events, live channels, sponsored programming, trailers, previews, or selected titles can still include interruptions. A service’s advertised tier also does not guarantee that every movie or event is available in 4K, for download, or on every device.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

2025 U.S. price comparison

The table distinguishes pre-increase prices from rates introduced during 2025. Annual prices are included only where the supplied sources establish a figure; an unlisted price is not assumed to be unavailable. Features and availability vary by plan, title, device, billing route, and account.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Roku Streaming Stick HD with Voice Remote
  • HD streaming made simple: With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
  • Compact without compromises: The sleek design of Roku Streaming Stick won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, and it even powers from your TV alone, plugging into the back and staying out of sight. No wall outlet, no extra cords, no clutter.
  • No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku device with one remote. Use your voice to quickly search, play entertainment, and more.
  • Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.
  • TV, simplified: With setup that only takes minutes, a simple-to-navigate Home Screen, and an uncluttered remote control that does all you need—Roku makes it easier to watch the TV you love.
Service Lowest tier and price period Ad-free or higher tier Annual-plan information What to watch for
Netflix Standard with Ads: about $7.99/month; 2025 rate following the increase announced in December 2024. Standard: about $17.99/month; Premium: about $24.99/month, at the same 2025 increase. Annual plan price not stated in the supplied comparison. Basic had been phased out for new customers; existing legacy subscribers could be treated differently. See the Netflix 2025 price-change report.
Disney+ With Ads: about $9.99/month before the late-2025 increase. Premium: about $15.99/month before the late-2025 increase; reportedly moved to $18.99/month late in 2025. Annual prices varied with the change and bundles. The official help page now lists $18.99/month and $189.99/year, but it is a 2026 page, not a complete record of 2025 rates. Do not backdate current prices. See Disney+ pricing help and Disney’s bundle page.
Hulu With Ads: about $11.99/month in the 2025 comparison. No Ads: about $18.99/month. Hulu + Live TV is a separate product. Annual price not stated in the supplied comparison. Bundles can alter the effective cost; do not compare on-demand Hulu with a live-TV plan as if they were the same service.
Max / HBO Max Basic with Ads: $9.99/month. Standard: $16.99/month; Premium/Ultimate: $20.99/month. The top tier was associated with 4K-related benefits and more downloads. Annual plans generally represented roughly two months free versus 12 monthly payments; exact plan totals are not stated here. Tier names and features can change. Price and tier comparison: Tom’s Guide’s 2025 guide.
Paramount+ Essential: about $7.99/month. Premium: about $12.99/month and included Showtime content. Annual plans were cheaper than 12 monthly payments; exact annual totals are not stated in the supplied comparison. Sports availability depends on the event and plan; a base subscription does not promise every game or add-on.
Peacock Select: $7.99/month. It is a limited-library plan, not simply the full catalog at a lower price. Premium rose to $10.99/month and Premium Plus to $16.99/month for new customers from July 23, 2025. Annual plans were sold as 12 months for the price of 10. The current plan page lists $79.99/year for Select, $109.99/year for Premium, and $169.99/year for Premium Plus; these are current page figures, not automatically 2025 rates. Existing annual subscribers and promotional customers could retain old pricing through the applicable term or offer. Select excludes sports, movies, and Peacock Originals. See the 2025 price notice and plan page.
Apple TV+ One main plan: about $9.99/month before a reported late-2025 increase. No conventional ad-supported tier or separate premium tier; the price reportedly rose to $12.99/month late in 2025. Annual price not stated in the supplied comparison. It is a focused originals catalog rather than a large general back-catalog service. Apple One may include Apple TV+; check the Apple One page.
Prime Video / Amazon Prime Prime membership: approximately $14.99/month or $139/year in the 2025 comparison. Ad-free viewing was a separate add-on; its price is not stated in the supplied comparison. Prime membership was about $139/year, but it includes benefits beyond video. Channels, some sports and live events, rentals, and purchases may require separate payment or retain advertising. See Amazon Prime and Prime Video.

The 2025 comparison above uses figures reported for different points in the year, not a synchronized checkout test. For a broader dated comparison of service tiers, see Tom’s Guide’s 2025 price guide. For current Disney+ pricing, consult Disney’s help page, keeping in mind that its listed rates are current page information, not proof of the full 2025 price history.

What the cheapest plans do—and do not—include

Ad-supported entry tiers

Netflix Standard with Ads, Disney+ with Ads, Max Basic with Ads, and Paramount+ Essential lowered the starting bill, but the experience differs by service. Ads are part of the trade-off, and some plans can also differ in downloads, stream limits, video quality, or title availability. Confirm the exact plan features before choosing based on the monthly price alone.

Peacock Select is a catalog cut, not just an ad tier

Peacock Select’s $7.99 monthly price is particularly easy to misread. Peacock’s plan description excludes sports, movies, and Peacock Originals, so a show, film, or event that motivates a subscription may require a different tier. The official Peacock plan page lists the exclusions and current plan details.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Roku Streaming Stick Plus with Voice Remote - 4K & HDR10+
  • 4K streaming made simple:With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
  • 4K picture quality: With Roku Streaming Stick Plus, watch your favorites with brilliant 4K picture and vivid HDR color.
  • Compact without compromises: Our sleek design won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, and it even powers from your TV alone, plugging into the back and staying out of sight. No wall outlet, no extra cords, no clutter.
  • No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku device with one remote. Use your voice to quickly search, play entertainment, and more.
  • Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.

“No ads” has exceptions

Premium Plus on Peacock is described as ad-free with limited exceptions, including channels, live sports and events, and some programming. Prime Video’s ad-free add-on likewise should not be treated as removing every ad from live or separately supplied content. Sports breaks, sponsorships, trailers, and promotions can also remain on other services.

4K, downloads, and screens can push the real price up

Do not assume a base subscription includes the best picture or household flexibility. Max’s highest tier was the one associated in the 2025 comparison with 4K-related benefits and more downloads. Across services, 4K/HDR, offline viewing, simultaneous streams, audio quality, and device limits can be tier-specific; a title may also lack a feature even when the plan supports it.

  • Check the plan’s simultaneous-stream limit if people watch in different rooms.
  • Check download limits and device rules before relying on offline viewing.
  • Check whether 4K/HDR is included at the tier you are comparing, not merely offered somewhere on the service.
  • For sports, verify the event, location, and access route; a base plan may not include every game, regional coverage, pay-per-view event, or out-of-market package.

Annual billing versus rotating subscriptions

An annual plan can reduce the effective monthly cost if you use a service all year. Peacock described its annual plans as 12 months for the price of 10; its current plan page shows annual figures, but those should not be mistaken for historical 2025 prices. Max annual plans were generally described as roughly two months free versus paying monthly.

Rank #3
Sale
Roku Streaming Stick 4K with Voice Remote - HDR10+ & Dolby Vision
  • Stunning 4K and Dolby Vision streaming made simple: With America’s number 1 TV streaming platform,* exploring popular apps—plus tons of free movies, shows, and live TV—is as easy as it is fun. *Based on hours streamed—Hypothesis Group
  • Breathtaking picture quality: Stunningly sharp 4K picture brings out rich detail in your entertainment with four times the resolution of HD. Watch as colors pop off your screen and enjoy lifelike clarity with Dolby Vision and HDR10+.
  • Seamless streaming for any room: With Roku Streaming Stick 4K, watch your favorite entertainment on any TV in the house, even in rooms farther from your router thanks to the long-range Wi-Fi receiver.
  • Shows on the go: Take your TV to-go when traveling—without needing to log into someone else’s device.
  • Compact without compromises: Our sleek design won’t block neighboring HDMI ports, so you can switch from streaming to gaming with ease. Plus, it’s designed to stay hidden behind your TV, keeping wires neatly out of sight

The break-even question is how long you will actually subscribe. If an annual plan saves about two monthly payments but you need a service only for a season, a show, or a short run of films, paying monthly for those months and canceling may cost less. Compare the annual total with the number of months you expect to use it, and check the account’s cancellation, renewal, and refund terms before paying upfront. Billing through an app store, carrier, or other provider can change the applicable rules.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bundles: lower combined bills, more conditions

Disney+, Hulu, and Max

Disney promotes bundles combining Disney+, Hulu, and HBO Max. The right comparison is the bundle’s price and ad configuration against the standalone plans you would otherwise buy—not against services you would never use. Check the official bundle listing for the offer currently available. Bundle eligibility, billing, and included plan features can differ from standalone subscriptions.

Apple TV+ with Peacock

Peacock’s official help page lists an Apple TV and Peacock bundle at $14.99/month with Peacock Premium, or $19.99/month with Premium Plus. Those are the bundle prices shown on the linked page, not a claim that they applied throughout 2025. Compare the bundle’s ad level and terms with the plans you already have, and see Peacock’s Apple bundle details.

Rank #4
Sale
Roku Streaming Stick 4K - HDR & D. Vision Roku Streaming Device for TV with Voice Remote & Long-Range Wi-Fi - Free & Live TV (Renewed)
  • Hides behind your TV: The all-new design plugs right into your TV with a simple setup
  • Super-fast startup: Start streaming channels like Disney+, Prime Video, HBO Max, Apple TV+, Netflix, Sling, and Hulu in a snap—just turn on your TV
  • Long-range Wi-Fi: Enjoy fast, smooth TV streaming in any room with a strong Wi-Fi connection, now up to 2x faster
  • No more juggling remotes: Power up your TV, adjust the volume, and control your Roku Streaming Stick with the Roku remote
  • Voice search & control: Quickly search, play entertainment, and control your streaming device with the voice remote

Partner offers and duplicate subscriptions

Paramount+ and other services may be available through retailers, mobile carriers, broadband providers, or other partners. An included benefit is useful only if it matches the plan you want and remains active for the period you need it. Before starting a bundle, check whether you already pay directly or through another platform; overlapping accounts can result in duplicate billing rather than an automatic conversion.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What a streaming lineup can cost

There is no universal “full streaming” total. The following are planning ranges from the supplied 2025 comparison, not fixed package prices. The actual total depends on tier, price-change date, annual billing, promotions, and whether Prime is counted for its video benefit or for the full membership.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Example household approach Illustrative monthly cost How to read it
Budget rotation: one general service, one family service, and a rotating prestige or sports service About $25–$40/month Lower end assumes ad-supported choices or annual-plan equivalents; rotating means not paying for every service at once.
Four-service household: for example, Netflix, Disney+ or Hulu, Max, and Prime Video or Peacock About $45–$75/month Before optional sports, live TV, and premium add-ons; exact total changes with the selected tiers and date.
Mostly ad-free lineup: Netflix Standard, Disney+ Premium, Hulu No Ads, Max Standard or Premium, Paramount+ Premium, Apple TV+, and Peacock Premium Plus Can exceed $100/month This is a broad set of subscriptions, not a recommendation that every household needs all of them.

To calculate your own total, add the actual monthly bills rather than mixing advertised monthly rates with annual equivalents. If you pay annually, divide that annual charge by 12 for a budget comparison, but keep the cash-flow difference visible. Add any separate ad-free fee, channels, sports packages, live TV, and applicable taxes. A promotion should be counted only for the months it lasts.

Best Value
Amazon Fire TV Stick HD (newest model), free & live TV, Alexa Voice Remote, powered by the TV, effortless setup, find shows faster with Alexa+
  • Upgrade your TV, instantly – Fire TV Stick HD is our fastest HD streaming stick ever, with a streamlined navigation that jumps straight to your movies, shows, and live TV. Take your entertainment on the go with the new ultra-portable profile. And watch it all come to life with crisp Full HD and Wi-Fi 6 support.
  • The newest Fire TV experience (2026) – Our biggest update to Fire TV has a new, modern design that gets you to your entertainment fast. Browse dedicated content categories, pin more of your favorite apps, and get personalized recommendations from Alexa+. Spend less time scrolling, and more time watching.
  • All your apps in one place – Prime Video, Netflix, YouTube, Disney+, Apple TV, HBO Max, Hulu, Peacock, Paramount+, and thousands more. It’s easy to find what to watch from hundreds of thousands of movies and TV episodes, including free, ad-supported content. Subscription fees may apply.
  • Our most portable stick – Thin and light, without extra clutter. Connects directly to your TV's HDMI port without blocking other ports.
  • Easier than ever to set up – Now with Direct Power, it's powered by your TV with the included USB-C cable and eliminates the need for a wall adapter.

Streaming versus cable: compare the whole household bill

Streaming is not automatically cheaper than cable. A fair comparison includes internet service, the streaming services you keep, a live-TV substitute if you need local channels or live news, sports access, equipment, taxes and fees, and any promotional cable rate. The useful calculation is internet plus chosen streaming services plus live TV or sports plus equipment—not a streaming subtotal compared with an all-in cable bill.

How to lower the bill without losing the shows you want

  1. Keep only the services you use year-round. Pick one or two permanent subscriptions based on the household’s regular viewing, not the size of a catalog.
  2. Rotate the rest. Subscribe monthly for the season, event, or release window you want, then cancel or pause before the next renewal when the service allows access through the paid period.
  3. Use annual billing selectively. Choose it for a service you expect to use for most or all of the year; compare the actual annual total against a few months of monthly billing.
  4. Check bundles and existing benefits. A bundle can help when you want every included service, but read the ad tier and terms and check carrier, broadband, employer, or membership benefits first.
  5. Audit billing routes and renewal dates. Look for direct, app-store, retailer, and provider-billed subscriptions to avoid paying twice. Record the next renewal date when signing up.
  6. Downgrade when the cheaper tier still fits. If you no longer need 4K, downloads, more streams, or ad-free viewing, a lower plan may be more practical than keeping a premium tier out of habit.

What changed during 2025

Several services raised prices at different points, making dated prices essential. Peacock’s announced increase took effect for new customers on July 23, 2025; existing annual subscribers and promotional customers could remain at their prior price through the applicable term or offer, according to its official price-change notice. Netflix’s increase was announced in December 2024, with many customers seeing it on a 2025 bill. Disney+ and Apple TV+ also had reported late-2025 increases, so their pre-change and post-change prices should not be collapsed into one figure.

The broader shift was toward a wider gap between entry and premium plans: ad-supported tiers offered lower starting prices, while higher tiers carried more of the 4K, download, and multi-screen benefits. Bundles and annual billing became more prominent ways to manage the bill, but both require checking the exact services and terms. S&P Global’s 2026 analysis discusses how ad tiers are reshaping pricing, useful context for the trend but not a source for exact 2025 retail prices: S&P Global’s analysis.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

  1. What If…? Season 3 Premiere: The Best and Worst of the MCU in a NutshellAdmit one · BlogWhat If…? Season 3 Premiere: The Best and Worst of the MCU in a NutshellOpened09 OCT 2026Runtime2 min
  2. Does NEON Have a New Horror Movie It Won’t Show Us? What’s VerifiedAdmit one · BlogDoes NEON Have a New Horror Movie It Won't Show Us? What's VerifiedOpened09 OCT 2026Runtime1 min
  3. What the Official NCIS: Origins Trailer Reveals About Young GibbsAdmit one · BlogWhat the Official NCIS: Origins Trailer Reveals About Young GibbsOpened09 OCT 2026Runtime2 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.