The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Spotify Audiobooks+ is already available in the U.S.; it did not launch there in 2026. Spotify announced the U.S. rollout for August 5, 2025. The add-on currently gives eligible Premium subscribers 15 extra audiobook hours each month. Spotify’s U.S. page displayed a price of $11.99 per month after a one-month trial for new Audiobooks+ subscribers when checked on August 18, 2026; the charge is on top of Premium.
What Audiobooks+ adds to Spotify Premium
Spotify first brought its monthly audiobook allowance to eligible U.S. Premium subscribers on November 8, 2023. The later Audiobooks+ rollout added a way to buy more monthly listening time, rather than replacing the Premium allowance. Spotify’s U.S. audiobook page describes a catalog of more than 700,000 titles; the figure is catalog-size information, not a promise that every title is available in every account or region. Spotify’s original U.S. launch announcement and its Audiobooks+ rollout announcement set out the two launch dates.
- Premium audiobook hours: 15 hours per month for eligible subscribers and plan managers.
- Audiobooks+: another 15 hours per month for the subscriber who adds it.
- Audiobooks+ for Plan Members: an add-on a Duo or Family manager can assign to another member.
- Top-ups: one-time blocks of listening time, which Spotify currently describes in 10-hour increments.
Audiobooks+ is not unlimited access. Monthly hours reset, and unused time does not carry into the next month.
U.S. prices and listening-time options
The $11.99 Audiobooks+ price is the amount displayed on Spotify’s U.S. audiobook page on August 18, 2026. It is a recurring monthly charge in addition to Premium, and the listed one-month trial is for new Audiobooks+ subscribers only. Offers, eligibility and checkout totals can vary, so check the price shown for your account before confirming.
#1 Best Overall
| Option | What it provides | Cost and timing |
|---|---|---|
| Eligible Premium audiobook hours | 15 hours monthly for an eligible Individual subscriber or Duo/Family manager | Included with the qualifying plan; unused hours expire at month-end |
| Audiobooks+ | 15 additional monthly hours for the subscribing account | $11.99/month on Spotify’s U.S. page on August 18, 2026, after a one-month trial for new Audiobooks+ subscribers; billed in addition to Premium |
| Audiobooks+ for Plan Members | Additional monthly access assigned by a Duo/Family manager to a member | Price not stated on the cited Spotify support page; check account checkout |
| Top-up | One-time listening-time block; Spotify describes 10-hour increments | Price not stated on the cited Spotify support page; valid for 12 months from purchase |
| Individual audiobook purchase | One selected title rather than a monthly hours allowance | Price depends on the title; purchased through Spotify Web Player |
Sources: Spotify’s U.S. audiobook page and Spotify’s audiobook listening-time support page.
Who can subscribe—and how Duo and Family access works
Spotify lists Premium Individual, Premium Duo and Premium Family as eligible plans for add-ons. Student and Basic plans are not eligible under Spotify’s current U.S. add-on rules. A free trial, non-recurring payment method or some third-party billing arrangements can also prevent an add-on from appearing. Check Spotify’s eligibility guidance if your account does not show the option.
On Duo and Family, the plan manager’s included audiobook hours do not automatically become a shared allowance for every member. The manager buys and assigns Audiobooks+ for Plan Members; another member can request access, but cannot complete the recurring purchase independently. The manager chooses which member receives it.
How to add Audiobooks+
On Spotify’s website
- Open Spotify’s Available subscriptions or Plans and add-ons page and select the Add-ons tab.
- Find Audiobooks+ and select Add.
- Review the offer and checkout total, then follow the payment prompts.
In the mobile app
- Open Spotify and tap or swipe to your profile picture.
- Select Your Premium, then Manage.
- Choose Browse add-ons and select the available audiobook option.
Labels and availability can vary by account or app version. If the mobile option is missing, use the web account page and check eligibility. Spotify lists credit or debit card, PayPal and Google Play Billing as possible payment methods, subject to account restrictions. Adding an add-on may also move the billing date forward and prompt a prorated adjustment.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #3
For a Duo or Family member requesting access
- In the add-ons area, select Request beside the audiobook add-on.
- Choose Request access.
- The plan manager receives an email and in-app notification, then purchases and assigns the add-on if they approve.
Spotify’s support instructions for audiobook time and add-ons describe these account and billing steps.
What happens when the hours run out?
Once the monthly Premium and Audiobooks+ allowances are used, you can wait for the next monthly reset, buy a top-up, or purchase a specific audiobook. Spotify says top-up time is used after monthly plan and add-on hours, can be purchased more than once, and lasts 12 months from purchase.
Individual audiobook purchases are made through Spotify Web Player rather than directly in the mobile app. After purchase, the title can be played in the Spotify app on supported devices. If you would rather borrow than pay per title, Libby and hoopla offer library-based audiobook access where your library participates; catalogs and borrowing limits depend on the library. Libby and hoopla explain their services.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Expiration, cancellation and plan changes
- Monthly Premium hours and Audiobooks+ hours expire at the end of the monthly period; they do not roll over.
- Top-up time is separate from the monthly allowance and is valid for 12 months from purchase.
- You can cancel Audiobooks+ without canceling Premium. Canceling Premium cancels active add-ons, and Spotify says access to purchased add-ons is lost.
- Spotify’s terms say top-up access may be retained only if you resubscribe within the applicable 12-month validity period.
- A Duo or Family member who leaves the plan loses access to add-ons and top-ups assigned through that plan.
Review Spotify’s audiobook purchase and cancellation terms before changing plans, particularly if you have unused top-up time.
Best Value
Is Audiobooks+ worth the monthly charge?
The useful comparison is the hours you will actually listen to, not the add-on price against the sticker price of a single audiobook. At the displayed U.S. price, Audiobooks+ buys 15 more hours each month. If you use all of them regularly and already pay for Premium, having music, podcasts and books in one app may suit you. If you use only a few hours, the unused allowance still expires.
- Consider Audiobooks+: you often exceed the included 15 hours and expect to use most of the additional monthly allowance.
- Consider a top-up: you only occasionally run out and prefer a one-time purchase over a recurring charge.
- Consider an individual purchase: you want one particular book without paying for more monthly listening time.
- Consider library borrowing: your library participates and you can accept catalog variation or holds.
- Consider a dedicated audiobook service: you want an audiobook-focused subscription or purchase model. Audible and Libro.fm are options, but compare their current U.S. terms and prices directly; a universal price or value winner is not established here.
See Audible for its service and Libro.fm for its audiobook purchasing model.
What Spotify has announced for later
Spotify’s May 21, 2026 announcement described higher-hour tiers and future Family and Student options as forthcoming. That announcement does not establish that those tiers are available to every U.S. account now; check the account’s live add-ons page for current availability. Spotify’s announcement is the source for those plans.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




