Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversFall ResetAmazon USFall reset deals: check better picks before checkoutAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
Blog

Gamescom Opening Night Live 2024: Every Major Announcement

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Gamescom Opening Night Live 2024 brought new reveals, gameplay and release updates on August 20, 2024. Among the headline announcements were Borderlands 4’s 2025 release window, a new Indiana Jones and the Great Circle date, and reveals including Revenge of the Savage Planet and Directive 8020. The event, hosted by Geoff Keighley, ran for just over two hours, according to contemporary coverage.

New games revealed at Opening Night Live

The show introduced new projects across horror, co-op action, and other genres. Release timing and platform details below reflect what was announced during the presentation; where those details were not included in the event recap, they are marked accordingly.

Game What was announced Release timing Platforms or access
Revenge of the Savage Planet Raccoon Logic revealed a sequel to Journey to the Savage Planet. The announcement specified single-player, online co-op, crossplay, and split-screen modes. Not stated in the event recap. Not stated in the event recap.
Directive 8020: A Dark Pictures Game Supermassive Games announced a horror game starring Lashana Lynch. 2025 Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation 5, and PC
Borderlands 4 Gearbox and 2K announced the next looter-shooter, set on an all-new planet. 2025 release window Not stated in the event recap.
Dying Light: The Beast Techland announced a standalone game featuring Kyle Crane and described it as containing “20+ hours of content.” Not stated in the event recap. Not stated in the event recap.
King of Meat Amazon Games and Glowmade revealed an online co-op game for one to four players. Not stated in the event recap. Not stated in the event recap.
Reanimal Tarsier Studios revealed a new game after developing the first two Little Nightmares titles. Not stated in the event recap. Not stated in the event recap.
Masters of Albion Peter Molyneux revealed a self-funded god game made with former Fable and Media Molecule developers. No release date was given. Not stated in the event recap.

Returning games, gameplay reveals, and major updates

Several established titles used the presentation to show new footage or confirm when players could expect a launch or major update.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Game What the presentation showed or confirmed Date or window announced Platforms or access
Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 The “Most Wanted” campaign mission featured stealth, evidence gathering, player choice, and a motorcycle escape. October 25, 2024 launch Not stated in the event recap.
Monster Hunter Wilds Capcom premiered new gameplay; the game was also playable publicly at gamescom. Not stated in the event recap. Not stated in the event recap.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance 2 Warhorse showed new gameplay and announced a delay. February 11, 2025 Not stated in the event recap.
Batman: Arkham Shadow Oculus Studios and Camouflaj showed the first gameplay for the VR title. October 2024 Not stated in the event recap.
Dune: Awakening Funcom showed survival gameplay and outlined a PC early-access plan, with consoles to follow later. PC early access in 2025 PC early access first; consoles later
Path of Exile 2 Early access was dated for console and PC. November 15, 2024 early access PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC via Steam and Epic
Marvel Rivals NetEase announced the launch date and said all heroes would be free at launch and beyond. December 6, 2024 Not stated in the event recap.
Monument Valley 3 Ustwo games announced the next game in the series. December 10, 2024 Netflix release
Civilization VII Firaxis and 2K announced the release date; the Deluxe Edition would include five days of early access. February 11, 2025; Deluxe Edition access began five days earlier Not stated in the event recap.

Xbox and Microsoft announcements

Xbox Wire’s August 20, 2024 recap grouped several Microsoft-related announcements from the event, spanning new releases, expansions, and a base-game update.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Game or expansion Announcement Date Platform and subscription details announced
Age of Mythology: Retold Launch date and Premium Edition advance access were announced. September 4, 2024 launch; Premium Edition advance access began August 27, 2024 Xbox Series X|S, Windows PC, and Steam; day-one Game Pass
Ara: History Untold A grand-strategy game about building and ruling a nation. September 24, 2024 PC and Steam
Diablo IV: Vessel of Hatred The presentation introduced Mercenaries, the Dark Citadel co-op activity, and Kurast Undercity. October 8, 2024 expansion release Not stated in the event recap.
Indiana Jones and the Great Circle The trailer highlighted Indy’s whip, revolver, journal, and camera. December 9, 2024 Xbox Series X|S, Windows PC, and Steam; day-one Game Pass
Starfield: Shattered Space The expansion received a release date. The presentation also showed the REV-8 land vehicle, which arrived in a base-game update. September 30, 2024 expansion release REV-8 was part of the base-game update; other platform or subscription details were not stated in the event recap.

Xbox Wire editor Mike Nelson characterized the presentation as a broad showcase of reveals and trailers: “At today’s gamescom Opening Night Live, fans were treated to a bevy of new game reveals and amazing trailers that gave a glimpse of what’s in store from Xbox.”

Which games had release dates or windows?

The clearest dated announcements included these newly revealed or updated schedules:

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • 2024: Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 (October 25), Path of Exile 2 early access (November 15), Indiana Jones and the Great Circle (December 9), and Marvel Rivals (December 6). The Microsoft announcements also set dates for Age of Mythology: Retold (September 4), Ara: History Untold (September 24), Starfield: Shattered Space (September 30), Diablo IV: Vessel of Hatred (October 8), and Monument Valley 3 (December 10).
  • 2025: Borderlands 4 and Directive 8020 received 2025 windows; Dune: Awakening was slated for PC early access in 2025. Kingdom Come: Deliverance 2 was moved to February 11, 2025, and Civilization VII was dated for February 11, 2025.

For the titles listed as undated in the tables, the event recap did not provide a date. These are the dates and plans presented at the August 2024 event, not a verification of subsequent release status.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which announcements included Game Pass?

The Xbox Wire recap specifically identified day-one Game Pass availability for Age of Mythology: Retold and Indiana Jones and the Great Circle. It did not identify Game Pass availability for the other titles in its recap.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.