The National Cherry Blossom Festival is Washington, DC’s four-week spring celebration of nature, arts, culture, community and the friendship between the United States and Japan. It is built around the cherry trees that Tokyo gave the city in 1912. The festival’s next run is scheduled for March 20 to April 11, 2027, but the official site warns that dates may change, and the peak bloom depends on weather that no one can forecast far ahead.
What the festival commemorates
The festival’s history page says the 1912 gift comprised more than 3,000 cherry trees. The first two trees were planted on March 27, 1912, by First Lady Helen Herron Taft and Viscountess Iwa Chinda on the north bank of the Tidal Basin in West Potomac Park. The gift took shape through people and institutions in both countries, including Tokyo Mayor Yukio Ozaki, chemist Jokichi Takamine, USDA official David Fairchild and Eliza Scidmore of the National Geographic Society. The festival presents the event as a celebration of U.S.–Japan friendship as well as of spring.
The same history page states that the four-week celebration welcomes more than 1.6 million visitors. The page does not specify the year of that estimate, so treat it as an approximate, undated figure.
2027 dates and scheduled events
The festival’s FAQ lists the following 2027 schedule. The festival warns that these dates are subject to change, so confirm them on the official calendar before booking.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Event | Scheduled date (2027) |
|---|---|
| Festival period | March 20 to April 11 |
| Opening Ceremony | March 20 |
| Blossom Kite Festival | March 27 |
| Petalpalooza | April 3 |
| National Cherry Blossom Festival Parade | April 10 |
Other signature events named on the official site include BloomFest and the Sakura Matsuri Japanese Street Festival. Programming extends beyond central Washington into nearby communities in Maryland and Virginia.
What “peak bloom” means and why it moves
The official definition
The festival’s FAQ defines peak bloom as the day when 70 percent of Yoshino cherry blossoms are open. This is the festival’s working definition, not the result of a separate scientific study. Because the date depends on temperature and weather, the same calendar date can fall before or after peak in different years.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The FAQ gives an average bloom date of April 3 and notes that National Park Service horticulturists cannot make an accurate prediction much more than 10 days ahead. Frost, high temperatures, wind or rain can shorten the bloom.
Recent bloom reference
| Reference point | Value | Source and date qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Peak bloom, 2026 | March 26 to April 2 | Festival Bloom Watch record for 2026. This is a past-year observation, not a forecast for 2027. |
| Average bloom date | April 3 | Festival FAQ. The page does not state a publication year. |
Where to see the cherry trees
The FAQ identifies three National Park Service locations where the trees grow. The Tidal Basin is the iconic viewing area, but the other two sites are worth considering if the crowds are a concern. Check current maps, access information and any closures before you set out.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Tidal Basin and West Potomac Park
This is the original planting site and the area most visitors mean when they say “the cherry blossoms.” The first trees from the 1912 gift went in on the north bank here.
East Potomac Park (Hains Point)
The FAQ lists this as one of the three National Park Service sites with cherry trees. It offers a quieter alternative to the Tidal Basin.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Washington Monument grounds
The trees on the Washington Monument grounds are the third of the three NPS sites named in the FAQ. They pair well with a visit to the monument itself.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Events and what they cost
The festival says many of its events are free, but prices and access rules differ from event to event and year to year. The examples below come from the 2026 festival and show how past events were arranged. They are not a guarantee of 2027 logistics or prices.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- BloomFest (2026): free admission at the south lawn and rear of the Jefferson Memorial from March 27 to April 11, with cultural performances, Junior Ranger activities, food trucks, festival merchandise and a beer garden.
- Parade (2026): free roadside viewing along a 10-block Constitution Avenue route, plus designated grandstand seats sold separately. The parade proceeds rain or shine.
Check each current event listing for the year you plan to attend, including grandstand availability and any ticketing terms.
Planning your visit
- Choose flexible dates within the festival window if seeing the blossoms is the priority. The FAQ notes that bloom dates cannot be forecast accurately far in advance.
- Check the festival’s Bloom Watch and BloomCam close to departure for current-year conditions.
- Confirm the event calendar on the official site, since published dates may change.
- Plan transport using the festival’s transportation information. The festival site also promotes restaurant listings, cruises and water taxi sightseeing as ways to spend a spring day on the water.
- Verify lodging separately. The festival named Marriott Bonvoy as preferred hotel provider for 2026, with more than 40 participating greater Washington-area hotels. That arrangement was for 2026, so recheck before assuming it applies to 2027.
For souvenirs, the festival’s online shop sells official artwork merchandise, pins, apparel and decor. Look for these items on the festival’s own shop rather than through third-party sellers, whose products are not official festival merchandise.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




