Richard Halsey “Dick” Best flew his last combat missions at the Battle of Midway on June 4, 1942, and never flew again. Within days he was coughing blood. Sources attribute the lung damage to caustic soda from a faulty oxygen system, which they say activated latent tuberculosis. He spent roughly two years in hospital, was medically retired from the Navy in March 1944, and then built a civilian career in aerospace and defense work in the Los Angeles area until his death in October 2001, at age 91.
The Midway missions that were his last flights
Best commanded Bombing Squadron Six (VB-6) from the aircraft carrier USS Enterprise. On June 4, 1942, his squadron joined the dive-bomber attacks on the Japanese carriers. The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs says Best and two wingmen separated from the main attack on the carrier Kaga and dropped three bombs on Akagi, with Best’s the third hit. The Arlington National Cemetery historian also credits him with hitting Akagi and Hiryu that day. Those are the attacks that made him one of the most cited dive-bomber pilots of the battle, and they are the last combat flying he did.
The VA account is a 2021 “Veteran of the Day” profile, and the Arlington account is a 2019 blog post, so both rely on secondary accounts of the battle rather than on contemporary mission reports reproduced in full. Neither source is a detailed reconstruction of individual bomb hits, so treat the specific claim about Akagi as the sources’ own attribution.
The illness that ended his flying
After returning from the missions, Best began coughing blood. The sources agree on the sequence but not on every detail of the medical explanation. Tillman’s 2002 article in Naval History Magazine and the 2001 Los Angeles Times obituary both attribute the injury to caustic soda from a defective or faulty oxygen system. The exposure, in the sources’ account, activated latent tuberculosis that Best already carried. The VA profile gives the same basic chain.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
That explanation comes from the Navy and press accounts of the period and from Best’s own recollections, not from a published medical record that a reader can check. What is well documented is the outcome. Best told the Los Angeles Times, “I knew my career was dead,” and added, “I never flew again.”
Hospital treatment and medical retirement
The sources differ on how long his recovery lasted. The phrase “about two years” and the figure “32 months” both appear, and they are not described the same way. The table below lists each source and what it says.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Source (date) | Recovery period as stated | Exit from the Navy as stated |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (November 6, 2021) | 32 months of hospital treatment | Not stated in this profile’s exit detail |
| Los Angeles Times obituary (November 3, 2001) | 32 months of treatment | Not stated as a retirement date |
| Captain James A. Noone, U.S. Naval Institute (February 2000) | Two years in naval hospitals | Not stated |
| Barrett Tillman, U.S. Naval Institute (February 2002) | About two years of hospital recovery | Medically retired as a lieutenant commander in March 1944 |
| Other accounts (undated in the source set) | Not stated | Left the Navy in 1944 |
The reasonable reading is that Best was hospitalized for roughly two years, a span of about 32 months, and was retired in March 1944. The difference between “about two years” and “32 months” is a difference in how the sources round, not a conflict about the outcome. The sources do not give a single documented date for the start or end of hospital care, so readers should not treat either figure as an exact clinical timeline.
Civilian career after the Navy
The Los Angeles Times obituary says Best went to work at Douglas Aircraft after leaving the Navy and then joined the RAND Corporation in 1947. Tillman’s article in Naval History Magazine dates his acceptance of a RAND position to 1948. The two accounts agree on the rest of the career: Best retired from RAND as its security manager in 1975.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The one-year gap is unresolved in the available sources. If you need a single date for a citation, use the source you are citing and name it, rather than presenting either year as settled fact.
Later years, public remarks, and death
Best stayed in the Los Angeles area after leaving RAND and remained active in Navy-related organizations. He took part in Midway commemorations and spoke about the battle in public. At a 1999 Battle of Midway symposium, he joked about his recovery: “And here I am today. So much for Navy medicine.” Captain James A. Noone recorded the remark in his account for Naval History Magazine, published in February 2000, which includes a sidebar by Vice Admiral William D. Houser.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Best also described his last flying day to Barrett Tillman in terms that have been repeated since: “The last day I touched a stick I sank two carriers.” Tillman’s 2002 article reports that statement. It is a personal recollection, and the carrier-sinking claim reflects the sources’ attributions rather than a separate battle-damage assessment.
He died in October 2001 at age 91. He is buried at Arlington National Cemetery, which records his interment in a 2019 account of Midway veterans resting there.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteBest Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Awards and the Medal of Honor effort
Best received the Navy Cross for the Midway attacks. The Arlington National Cemetery account reproduces the citation, which reads: “Defying extreme danger from concentrated anti-aircraft barrage and powerful fighter opposition, Lieutenant Commander Best, with bold determination and courageous zeal, led his squadron in dive-bombing assaults against Japanese naval units. Flying at a distance from his own forces which rendered return unlikely because of probable fuel exhaustion, he pressed home his attacks with extreme disregard for his own personal safety.” The cemetery identifies the text as the award citation and does not name an individual author.
The VA profile lists a second decoration, the Distinguished Flying Cross. The Los Angeles Times obituary also says Distinguished Flying Cross. The Arlington account calls the second award the Distinguished Service Cross. Because the VA and the obituary agree, the Distinguished Flying Cross is the better-supported wording, but the discrepancy is not resolved in the sources.
Later advocacy sought to upgrade the Navy Cross to the Medal of Honor. According to the Arlington account, Admiral Thomas Moorer and Vice Admiral William Houser led an effort to obtain the Medal of Honor for Best, and that effort was unsuccessful before his death. A Senate tribute entered into the Congressional Record of March 23, 2000 supports an upgrade. The record shows advocacy, not an award decision, so it should not be read as a grant of the Medal of Honor.
Dick Best in the 2019 film
Best appears as a character in the 2019 feature film Midway, and Arlington National Cemetery confirms that the film portrays him and his Midway missions. A dramatized film is not a historical record. Use the sources above, not the film, for dates, medical history, and awards.
Recommended Free Tools
For the detailed primary-source record of his later years, the most useful starting points are the VA profile and the Arlington National Cemetery account.
Quick Recap
Sources used
- Barrett Tillman, “Farewell to Midway’s Best,” Naval History Magazine, February 2002: https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-history-magazine/2002/february/farewell-midways-best
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, “#VeteranOfTheDay Navy Veteran Richard ‘Dick’ Best,” November 6, 2021: https://news.va.gov/96603/veteranoftheday-navy-veteran-richard-dick-best/
- Los Angeles Times, “Richard Best, 91; Pilot Helped to Sink 2 Japanese Carriers in Battle of Midway,” November 3, 2001: https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2001-nov-03-me-65245-story.html
- Kevin M. Hymel, “Battle of Midway Hero Rests at ANC,” Arlington National Cemetery, December 20, 2019: https://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/Blog/Post/10258/Battle-of-Midway-Hero-Rests-at-ANC
- Captain James A. Noone, “Warriors to Return to Midway,” Naval History Magazine, February 2000: https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-history-magazine/2000/february/warriors-return-midway
- U.S. Congress, Congressional Record, March 23, 2000, Senate tribute to Richard Best: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CREC-2000-03-23/pdf/CREC-2000-03-23.pdf
“
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




