October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
Admit one · Blog

Viacom Channels Return to DIRECTV After 2012 Blackout in Deal Reportedly Worth $600 Million a Year

Viacom’s 2012 return to DIRECTV followed a roughly 10-day blackout. Reports estimated a $600 million first-year deal, about $100 million above the prior annual fee.
Opened Runtime3 min Written byDocumentaryTube Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Viacom’s channels returned to DIRECTV on July 20, 2012, after a blackout of roughly 10 days. Contemporary reports valued the new agreement at about $600 million in its first year—but that was the estimated total annual payment, not $600 million more than before. The increase over the previous reported annual fee of about $500 million was roughly $100 million, or 20%. The companies did not disclose the contract’s financial terms.

What happened in the 2012 blackout?

Viacom’s carriage agreement with DIRECTV expired in July 2012, and the affected networks disappeared from DIRECTV on July 10. The companies announced a long-term agreement on July 20, and the channels returned. Reports described the interruption as nine or 10 days, depending on how partial days were counted. DIRECTV served about 20 million households at the time. The Boston Globe’s contemporary report covered the agreement and its end to the blackout.

Which channels came back?

The agreement restored 17 Viacom networks. The period announcement named a lineup that included Nickelodeon, Comedy Central, MTV, BET, CMT, Spike, TV Land, VH1, MTV2, Nick Jr., Nicktoons, TeenNick, Logo, Centric, Tr3s, VH1 Classic and Palladia. Contemporary coverage reproducing DIRECTV’s announcement identified the 17-network restoration.

What did “$600 million” mean?

The companies did not publish the dollar terms. Contemporary reporting and analyst estimates put Viacom’s first-year annual carriage payments under the new deal at about $600 million. The prior arrangement was reported at about $500 million a year, so the estimated increase was approximately $100 million annually—about 20%—rather than an additional $600 million. The Associated Press report carried by Global News described the estimated first-year value and increase.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Reported measure Approximate figure Qualification
Previous annual payments $500 million Contemporary reporting estimate; not a company-disclosed figure. Boston Globe
New deal, first-year annual payments $600 million Reported estimate; financial terms were not publicly disclosed. Associated Press via Global News
Estimated annual increase $100 million, or about 20% Calculated from the reported old and new annual figures; not a disclosed contract amount. Contemporary industry analysis
Reported contract term Seven years Reported by people familiar with the agreement; the companies did not publish full contract terms. Associated Press via Global News

Reports also described single-digit annual increases over the contract term. That does not establish a precise total contract value: the underlying terms were not disclosed, so a multiyear total should not be presented as a confirmed figure.

Why did the companies disagree?

The central issue was the affiliate fee DIRECTV paid to carry Viacom’s cable networks. Viacom argued that its networks attracted substantial viewing and that DIRECTV paid less for its programming than competing distributors. DIRECTV objected to what it regarded as excessive programming-cost increases. The blackout was leverage in that negotiation, with viewers losing access while the companies argued over the price and terms of carriage. Contemporary reporting summarized the competing positions.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What did DIRECTV get in return?

The settlement covered more than linear channels. It reportedly expanded DIRECTV customers’ ability to access Viacom programming on tablets, laptops, handheld devices and other connected platforms through DIRECTV Everywhere. DIRECTV also was not required to carry EPIX, the premium movie network partly owned by Viacom at the time. That is different from saying EPIX was removed from a package: the reported concession was that carriage was not mandatory under this agreement. The reproduced announcement described expanded digital access; industry coverage discussed the EPIX provision and the bargaining outcome.

Who won the dispute?

There was no simple winner. Viacom secured a reported increase in annual carriage revenue, while DIRECTV obtained expanded digital rights and avoided a requirement to carry EPIX. DIRECTV also resisted Viacom’s reported demands for a higher fee. Viewers regained the affected channels when the blackout ended, but the agreement did not establish that subscribers’ bills immediately rose by a particular amount. Higher programming costs can become part of distributors’ broader cost pressures; the available contemporary coverage does not prove a specific price increase caused by this deal.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why this deal mattered beyond the blackout

The agreement illustrates the leverage both sides hold in bundled television: a programmer can threaten to withhold popular channels, while a distributor can resist fee increases by putting the loss of those channels in front of subscribers. It also captured a transition in television distribution. Alongside the familiar channel-carriage dispute, the deal addressed viewing on connected devices, an early sign that rights for digital access were becoming part of traditional distribution negotiations.

The accurate shorthand is that Viacom’s channels returned under a deal reportedly worth about $600 million in annual payments during its first year—roughly $100 million more than the previous reported annual amount, not $600 million more.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

  1. OTT review: ‘Do You Wanna Partner’ serves up more froth than flavourAdmit one · BlogOTT review: 'Do You Wanna Partner' serves up more froth than flavourOpened08 OCT 2026Runtime6 min
  2. Anitta no Latin AMAs: veja onde assistir à performance de 2024Admit one · BlogAnitta no Latin AMAs: veja onde assistir à performance de 2024Opened08 OCT 2026Runtime2 min
  3. Why Grimes Called Kito’s AI-Voice Track “Cold Touch” a “Masterpiece”Admit one · BlogWhy Grimes Called Kito's AI-Voice Track “Cold Touch” a “Masterpiece”Opened08 OCT 2026Runtime4 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.