What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For documentary creators who need music they can take into an edit, Loudly is the more practical starting point on the facts available here: it offers downloads and separated-stem exports, while Udio’s audio, video, and stem downloads are disabled during its transition. Udio still stands out for prompt-led song creation, lyric editing, voice references, and timeline refinement. Neither product’s supplied details establish support for a particular documentary genre or confirm licensing terms for your intended release, so check those specifics before building a soundtrack around either one.
Udio Vs. Loudly At A Glance
| What Matters For A Documentary Edit | Udio | Loudly |
|---|---|---|
| Core workflow | Prompt-led vocal or instrumental songs, lyric tools, audio transformations, and Sessions timeline editing | Generate, remix, master, and distribute music through a web-based toolkit |
| Creative controls | Edit lyrics, blend voice references, shape styles, and extend or transform audio | Generate full songs with vocals, lyrics, and structured controls; remix uploaded audio |
| Stem workflow | Stem separation is available, but stem export is currently disabled | Exports separated stems |
| Getting audio into an edit | Audio, video, and stem downloads are disabled during the transition period | Downloads are listed for the Personal plan; free generated tracks are limited to 30 seconds |
| Free plan detail | 10 daily credits and 100 monthly credits | 30-second limit on free generated tracks |
| Paid pricing detail | Standard is $10 per month, billed monthly, for 2,400 credits per month; a 7-day trial is listed | Paid plan price is not stated here; check Loudly’s site |
| Platforms | Not stated | Web; native desktop software is not listed |
| Licensing detail | Not stated; check current terms | Paid licensing rights depend on plan terms; check current terms |
Which Fits A Documentary Workflow?
Choose Loudly When The Edit Needs Downloadable Assets
Documentary work often involves a sequence of picture edits, review exports, and delivery versions. Loudly’s listed downloads and separated-stem exports fit a workflow where an editor needs to move music into a separate editing environment or adjust music elements independently. The free track-length limit is 30 seconds, so check the plan details if you need longer cues or downloads for a project.
Choose Udio For Song And Vocal Shaping
Udio’s listed strengths are more useful when the creative target is a prompt-led song: it can generate vocals or instrumentals from text prompts and lyrics, edit lyrics, blend voice references, shape styles, and extend or transform audio in Sessions. But its current download restrictions are a major production constraint: audio, video, and stem downloads are disabled, even though stem separation is available. Confirm that the available workflow suits your project before developing a cue there.
How To Prompt For Documentary Cues
Treat these as creative briefs to try, not guaranteed genre presets or proven outputs. The supplied product details do not establish support for particular genres, moods, instruments, cue lengths, or synchronization controls. Check each service’s current options and terms for the specifics your film requires.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
- Observational scene: “Instrumental cue for a quiet observational scene; restrained energy, sparse arrangement, leave room for location sound and dialogue.”
- Historical sequence: “Instrumental underscore for a reflective archival sequence; gradual development, subdued mood, no prominent lead vocal.”
- Closing passage: “Song for a documentary closing passage; lyrics about memory and change, measured delivery, build toward a clear ending.”
For either service, describe the scene’s emotional role, how much space dialogue needs, whether you want vocals, and how the cue should develop. With Udio, lyric editing, voice references, and transformations are listed controls; downloads remain disabled during the transition. With Loudly, consider whether remixing uploaded audio or separating stems fits the edit, and verify the relevant plan’s download and licensing terms.
What Udio’s Transition Means For Creators
Universal Music Group and Udio announced a settlement on October 29, 2025, alongside plans for a licensed AI music creation platform trained on authorized music. UMG’s announcement describes the agreement. Udio disabled song downloads as part of the transition, and the planned service was described as keeping generated tracks inside the platform. Billboard’s account of the transition covers the download change. Warner Music Group announced its settlement and collaboration with Udio on November 19, 2025, and later announcements described licensing agreements with Merlin and Kobalt. Warner Music Group’s announcement and the Kobalt report give those details.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
In May 2026, Udio described a licensed app called Starstruck with Cover, Reimagine, Remix, and Create modes, and said it would launch later in 2026. The supplied information does not establish whether that app is available on September 26, 2026, or whether its terms and workflow match the Udio product described above. The Starstruck announcement coverage provides the dated description; check Udio’s current site for availability.
Rights And Release Checks
Before using generated music in a documentary, check the current terms for the specific plan, project, and distribution you have in mind. Loudly’s supplied details say paid licensing rights depend on plan terms; Udio’s product details do not state licensing terms for this use. If you use voice references, uploaded audio, or material associated with identifiable people, get the necessary consent and review each platform’s rules for those inputs. The available details do not establish the permissions needed for a particular recording or release.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Verdict
For a documentary edit that depends on downloading tracks or stems, Loudly is the better-supported fit in the supplied product details. Udio offers more specifically described lyric and vocal-shaping controls, but its download restrictions make it difficult to recommend for a conventional offline edit right now. Check current availability, export access, and plan terms before choosing either service for a release-bound soundtrack.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

