The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Prince Harry settled his phone-hacking and privacy claim against News Group Newspapers (NGN) in January 2025, and NGN agreed to pay “substantial damages.” Its public apology did not disclose an exact amount. The “8-figure” description is an attributed characterization, not a figure stated in the settlement announcement or a damages award made after trial.
What happened in Harry’s case against NGN?
On 22 January 2025, Harry reached a settlement with News Group Newspapers, the publisher of The Sun and the now-defunct News of the World. NGN issued an apology as part of the settlement. It said: “NGN offers a full and unequivocal apology to the Duke of Sussex for the serious intrusion by The Sun between 1996 and 2011 into his private life, including incidents of unlawful activities carried out by private investigators working for The Sun.” Associated Press’s reproduction of NGN’s statement includes the full apology.
NGN also acknowledged phone hacking, surveillance and misuse of private information by News of the World journalists and investigators. Its statement recognized distress and damage to Harry’s relationships, friendships and family, and referred to intrusion into the private life of his late mother, Diana, Princess of Wales. The apology was issued by NGN; the published statement does not identify an individual speaker.
How much did Prince Harry receive?
The public statement does not give a precise sum. Its exact wording is: “We acknowledge and apologize for the distress caused to the Duke, and the damage inflicted on relationships, friendships and family, and have agreed to pay him substantial damages.” The statement reproduced by AP says “substantial damages,” not a numerical amount.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
Accordingly, an “8-figure” sum should be attributed to reporting or a headline using that description. It should not be presented as an exact amount disclosed by NGN or as a court’s damages judgment. The outcome was a settlement, not a decision awarding damages after a trial. The available reporting on the figure likewise distinguishes the characterization from the amount stated in the apology.
How does this differ from Harry’s other tabloid cases?
Harry’s legal actions involved different publishers and different outcomes. His 2025 NGN settlement is separate from the later claim against Associated Newspapers Limited (ANL), publisher of the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday. His earlier case against the Daily Mirror had a third, distinct outcome.
Rank #2
| Case | Publisher | Outcome | What the financial outcome means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Daily Mirror case (2023) | Mirror Group Newspapers | A judgment found “widespread and habitual” phone hacking, according to AP’s account. | Distinct from both the NGN settlement and the later ANL costs order. |
| NGN case (January 2025) | News Group Newspapers, publisher of The Sun and the former News of the World | Settlement and apology; NGN acknowledged serious intrusion and unlawful information gathering. | NGN agreed to pay “substantial damages”; the public statement gives no exact sum. AP reproduces the statement. |
| ANL case (July–August 2026) | Associated Newspapers Limited, publisher of the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday | The High Court dismissed the claim in July 2026. In August, Harry and six co-claimants were ordered to pay an interim contribution toward ANL’s legal costs. | The reported £9.54 million interim costs payment is owed by the claimants toward the other side’s costs, not damages paid to Harry. AP reports the costs order. |
What happened in the separate Daily Mail case?
The ANL case was brought by seven claimants: Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon, Elizabeth Hurley, Elton John, David Furnish, Simon Hughes, Prince Harry and Sadie Frost Law. The defendant was Associated Newspapers Limited. The Judiciary’s case listing identifies the parties and judgment.
In July 2026, Justice Matthew Nicklin dismissed the claim. AP’s summary says the claimants had not established their allegations of unlawful information gathering. The judge rejected the proposed inference that private information must have been obtained unlawfully merely because the publisher could not positively explain its source. In AP’s account, he described that approach as: “That is not a permissible approach.” AP’s report provides the quotation in context, while the Judiciary’s page lists the judgment.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The following month, the claimants were ordered to pay an interim £9.54 million toward ANL’s legal costs. AP reported that further costs could be pursued and that the final amount might be assessed later. It is a costs order in the dismissed ANL case, not a reversal or repayment of the NGN settlement.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
What should readers take from the “8-figure” wording?
- Harry’s settlement was with NGN in January 2025, and it included an apology for intrusion and unlawful information gathering.
- NGN’s published statement calls the damages “substantial” but does not disclose a precise figure.
- The settlement was not a damages award after trial. The later ANL case and its costs order involved a different publisher and separate proceedings.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




