The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Kate Middleton, now Catherine, Princess of Wales, announced on 22 March 2024 that tests following planned abdominal surgery had found cancer. She said she had begun preventative chemotherapy; later reporting recorded her saying the cancer was in remission in January 2025.
What Catherine announced
In a video released on 22 March 2024, Catherine explained that doctors had initially believed the condition found before surgery was non-cancerous. Tests completed after the operation instead found cancer. She said her medical team had advised a course of preventative chemotherapy and that she was in the early stages of treatment.
“My medical team therefore advised that I should undergo a course of preventative chemotherapy and I am now in the early stages of that treatment.”
Her public statements did not identify the cancer’s type or stage.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall#1 Best Overall
Kate Middleton cancer diagnosis timeline
| Date | Confirmed update | What remained undisclosed |
|---|---|---|
| 17 January 2024 | Kensington Palace said Catherine had undergone planned abdominal surgery successfully. The palace expected a hospital stay of 10 to 14 days followed by recovery at home. | The statement did not name the underlying condition or provide a diagnosis. |
| 22 March 2024 | Catherine said post-operative tests had found cancer and that she had started preventative chemotherapy. | Her cancer type, stage, drug regimen and prognosis were not stated. |
| January 2025 | An ABC News timeline records Catherine saying her cancer was in remission during a visit to the hospital where she had been treated. | No additional clinical details were given in that account. |
| 15 January 2025 | The Royal Family’s official site said Catherine had received treatment at The Royal Marsden and that she and the Prince of Wales had become joint patrons of the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust. | The announcement did not publish a treatment summary or medical test results. |
What surgery did Kate have?
The operation was publicly described only as planned abdominal surgery. Kensington Palace said it was successful and that Catherine was expected to remain in hospital for 10 to 14 days before continuing her recovery at home.
The palace also said she wanted to preserve normality for her children and keep her personal medical information private. No more specific surgical procedure was identified in the cited statements.
Rank #2
What treatment did she receive?
Catherine described the treatment as “preventative chemotherapy.” The public announcement did not specify which medicines were used, how often they were administered, how long the course lasted, or what side effects she experienced. It also did not state whether she received any other form of cancer treatment.
Because those details were not released, it is not possible to identify the cancer type, stage or exact treatment plan from the public record cited here.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Rank #3
What is the latest public health update?
The latest updates in the cited record are from January 2025. ABC News reported that Catherine said her cancer was in remission during a hospital visit. Separately, the Royal Family confirmed on 15 January that she had been treated at The Royal Marsden and had taken on a joint patronage of its NHS foundation trust with the Prince of Wales.
Those statements establish what was publicly reported at that time, but they do not provide a detailed prognosis, surveillance schedule or guarantee about future treatment.
Rank #4
What remains private
Catherine and the palace have not publicly identified the cancer’s type or stage. They have also not released her pathology, scans, chemotherapy regimen, treatment dates or long-term medical outlook. Speculation presented online without a named, authoritative source should not be treated as confirmation.
Quick Recap
Best Value
How to interpret future updates
- Check whether an announcement comes from Catherine, Kensington Palace, the Royal Family or a named news report.
- Separate a direct statement from a report describing what someone said.
- Keep the date attached to every health update; treatment status can change over time.
- Do not infer cancer type, stage or prognosis from the fact of surgery, chemotherapy or remission alone.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




