Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteGrandmasters is a documentary about the proposed launch of a new competitive chess league and the conflicts it creates across the chess world. Tribeca lists a 56-minute festival presentation; separate reporting describes a three-episode limited series and a theatrical supercut combining its episodes. Here is what is established about the story, cast, format and viewing options.
What is the Grandmasters documentary about?
In Tribeca’s official 2026 festival listing, an “eccentric German entrepreneur” recruits reigning chess champion Magnus Carlsen to launch a league intended to shake up the game, challenge its governing body and make chess cool. The project’s impact is told through rivalries and personal conflicts involving figures such as Carlsen, Wesley So and Hans Niemann.
A Chess.com report updated September 20, 2026 identifies the entrepreneur as Jan Henric Buettner and describes the league as a challenge to FIDE. It says the series also follows chess figures’ lives and the power plays of chess executives. Those details come from Chess.com’s account; Tribeca’s shorter synopsis does not provide that level of background.
Director Liza Mandelup told Chess.com, “I wanted to get beyond the idea of a chess genius and make something funny, intimate, and deeply human about the people behind the game.” That aim signals a focus on personalities and relationships alongside the league dispute.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Who is in the Grandmasters documentary cast?
Tribeca’s cast listing names the following participants:
- Magnus Carlsen
- Wesley So
- Jan Henric Buettner
- Hans Niemann
- Danny Rensch
- Levy Rozman
- Lotis Key
These are the names listed by the festival; the listing does not assign each person a role or describe their individual screen time.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Director and key credits
Liza Mandelup directed Grandmasters. Tribeca credits Max McGillivray and Christian Vazquez as producers, with Andrew Fried, Jordan Wynn, Lana Barkin, Patrick Altema, Mandelup and Alex Leibow as executive producers. The festival also credits Makiko Wholey as associate producer, Stef Smith as line producer, Alex O’Flinn, Eric F. Martin and Rejh Cabrera as editors, Benjamin Whatley as cinematographer, Joel Hernandez for sound, Greg Tripi as composer, and Adam Ridley as co-executive producer.
Tribeca’s post-screening conversation listing names international chess masters Danny Rensch and Levy Rozman, subject Lea Makhloufi, and executive producer/director Liza Mandelup, moderated by Jessica Shaw. A panel listing is not, by itself, a cast credit.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How many episodes are there, and how long is it?
The format depends on which presentation you mean:
| Presentation | What is established | Runtime |
|---|---|---|
| Tribeca festival program | Listed as a Tribeca TV world-premiere program, in English with English subtitles | 56 minutes, according to the festival listing |
| Limited series | Chess.com describes it as a three-episode limited series | Individual episode lengths are not stated in the cited coverage |
| Theatrical edit | Chess.com reports that the three episodes are combined into one supercut | The supercut runtime is not stated in the cited coverage |
The festival’s 56-minute figure is for its listed program, not an episode length or a confirmed runtime for the theatrical supercut. The sources do not provide episode titles or a detailed episode guide.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Where can you watch Grandmasters?
Chess.com reported that a theatrical supercut was scheduled for U.S. screenings in more than 90 AMC theaters on October 11 and 14, 2026. Those are reported screening dates, not confirmation that a particular showing has taken place or remains available. Check local showtimes and ticket status through the official Grandmasters film site.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
The sources cited here do not identify a streaming service or home-viewing date. The official site’s accessible information includes a trailer and film-details interface but does not establish streaming availability. No platform should be assumed until an authoritative announcement names one.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




