DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
AirPods 4

Apple ‘Glowtime’ event 2024: iPhone 16, Apple Watch Series 10, AirPods 4, and everything else announced

Apple’s September 9, 2024 Glowtime event introduced the iPhone 16 and 16 Pro families, Apple Watch Series 10, black-titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2, AirPods 4, refreshed AirPods Max colors, and AirPods Pro 2 hearing-health features.

By DocumentaryTube Team 11 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Apple ‘Glowtime’ event 2024 took place on September 9, 2024, and announced the iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Pro families, black-titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2, Apple Watch Series 10, AirPods 4, refreshed AirPods Max colors, and AirPods Pro 2 hearing-health features; these are historical announcements, not a guide to Apple’s newest 2026 lineup.

Apple said the new iPhone 16 lineup, Apple Watch Series 10, black-titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2, and AirPods 4 lineup would reach stores beginning Friday, September 20, 2024. The date is useful for understanding the original launch sequence, but it should not be read as a current availability statement.

Key takeaways

  • Apple’s Glowtime event took place on September 9, 2024, with the iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Pro, Apple Watch, and AirPods families as its main announcements.
  • iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus introduced Apple’s A18 chip, Camera Control, the Action button, a 48MP Fusion camera, 2x Telephoto capability, and macro photography through a new Ultra Wide camera.
  • iPhone 16 Pro and iPhone 16 Pro Max added the A18 Pro chip, 6.3-inch and 6.9-inch displays, 5x Telephoto cameras on both models, and 4K120 Dolby Vision video recording.
  • Apple Watch Series 10 was nearly 10 percent thinner than Series 7, Series 8, and Series 9 while retaining Apple’s stated all-day 18-hour battery life.
  • AirPods 4 launched in standard and Active Noise Cancellation versions, while AirPods Pro 2 gained Hearing Protection, Hearing Test, and Hearing Aid features.
  • These were September 2024 announcements; current pricing, availability, software support, and regional health-feature authorization require a fresh check rather than assumptions based on launch coverage.

What did Apple announce at the Glowtime event in 2024?

Apple’s Glowtime event in 2024 focused on four product families: iPhone 16, Apple Watch, AirPods, and new hearing-health capabilities. Apple’s official event listing and recording identify September 9, 2024 as the event date, while the company’s launch update said the new iPhone, Apple Watch, and AirPods products would begin appearing in stores on Friday, September 20, 2024.

The September 20 date was a historical launch date, not a statement about current stock or current-generation status. The official Apple event listing and Apple’s September 2024 launch update are the appropriate references for the original announcement timing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Apple iPhone 16e, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, 800 nits (HBM), 1200 nits (peak), 2532x1170px at 460ppi, 4005mAh Battery
  • 8GB RAM, Apple A18 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency cores), Apple GPU 4-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
  • Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18.3.1, upgradable to iOS 18.5
  • Connectivity: Global 4G LTE, Sub-6 GHz 5G, LTE, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, USB-C, Wireless Charging (7.5W). (does not have mmWave 5G or MagSafe or physical SIM card) - Dual eSIM Only
  • Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Straight Talk., Etc.

The event did not introduce a new Mac, iPad, or Apple TV hardware product according to the official event materials used for this roundup. “Everything else” therefore means the additional Apple Watch, AirPods, band, color, software, and hearing-health announcements connected to the event—not products that were absent from the presentation.

What was new in iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus?

iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus were the mainstream iPhone announcements, built around Apple’s custom A18 chip, Camera Control, the Action button, improved battery life, and a 48MP Fusion camera system. Apple also added a 2x Telephoto option and a new Ultra Wide camera capable of macro photography.

Comparison point iPhone 16 iPhone 16 Plus
Position in the lineup Standard iPhone 16 model Larger standard iPhone 16 model
Chip Apple A18 Apple A18
Controls Camera Control and Action button Camera Control and Action button
Main camera system 48MP Fusion camera 48MP Fusion camera
Zoom and close-up photography 2x Telephoto option and Ultra Wide macro photography 2x Telephoto option and Ultra Wide macro photography
Battery positioning Improved battery life, according to Apple Improved battery life, according to Apple

Apple’s iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus announcement supports the shared specifications in the table. The main decision between the two standard models was size: iPhone 16 was the regular-format choice, while iPhone 16 Plus was the larger-format choice. The supplied launch material does not provide a price table that should be treated as current in 2026.

For someone comparing ownership costs rather than only the phone itself, compatibility matters. A buyer should check the fit of a model-specific iPhone 16 case, screen protector, USB-C cable, or charger before purchasing, because accessories are practical follow-on needs and are not interchangeable across every Apple device or generation.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the difference between iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Pro?

The central difference between iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Pro is that the standard models use A18 and a simpler camera system, while the Pro models use A18 Pro, titanium construction, larger displays, more advanced cameras, professional video recording, and studio-quality microphones.

Feature iPhone 16 family iPhone 16 Pro family
Chip A18 A18 Pro
Display sizes announced by Apple Standard and Plus sizes; the supplied release does not specify the diagonal measurements 6.3 inches for iPhone 16 Pro; 6.9 inches for iPhone 16 Pro Max
Materials and design Standard-family iPhone design Titanium design
Main camera 48MP Fusion camera 48MP Fusion camera with a faster quad-pixel sensor
Ultra Wide camera New Ultra Wide camera with macro photography 48MP Ultra Wide camera
Telephoto 2x Telephoto option 5x Telephoto camera on both Pro models
Video The standard announcement highlights the camera system but does not specify 4K120 Dolby Vision 4K video at 120 frames per second in Dolby Vision
Audio capture Not specified in the supplied standard-model announcement Studio-quality microphones

Apple described the 6.9-inch iPhone 16 Pro Max as the largest iPhone display available at the time of announcement. The official iPhone 16 Pro announcement also highlighted new camera and audio capabilities and improved battery life.

Rank #2
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Pink - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
  • There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
  • This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
  • Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
  • This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.

The Pro camera system was the more substantial upgrade for people recording video, shooting at longer focal lengths, or needing a higher-resolution Ultra Wide camera. Apple said iPhone 16 Pro Max offered the best battery life ever offered on an iPhone at launch. That is an Apple launch claim, not an independent battery test; the supplied dossier contains no hands-on testing or benchmark evidence.

What did Apple Watch Series 10 add?

Apple Watch Series 10 introduced a thinner body, a larger display, faster charging, sleep-apnea notifications, water-depth sensing, water-temperature sensing, and additional health and fitness insights through watchOS 11.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Apple stated in 2024 that Apple Watch Series 10 was nearly 10 percent thinner than Apple Watch Series 7, Series 8, and Series 9 while retaining an all-day 18-hour battery life. The Apple Watch Series 10 announcement described the display as the largest and most advanced Apple Watch display Apple had announced at that point.

Series 10 launch feature What Apple announced Important qualification
Thickness Nearly 10 percent thinner than Series 7, Series 8, and Series 9 Apple’s published comparison, not an independent measurement in this article
Battery All-day 18-hour battery life Apple’s stated figure; actual endurance varies with use
Charging Faster charging The dossier does not provide a charging-time figure
Health Sleep-apnea notifications and additional watchOS 11 health insights Notifications are intended to detect signs, not provide a medical diagnosis
Water-related sensing Water-depth and water-temperature sensing Useful for water and fitness activities; the dossier does not define every operating limit
Construction choices Aluminum and titanium options were part of the comparison Material choice affects styling and positioning within the range

Sleep-apnea notifications should not be confused with a diagnosis. Apple described the feature as intended to detect signs of moderate to severe sleep apnea in adults who had not received a diagnosis. Availability also depended on compatible hardware, current firmware, and authorization by health authorities in the relevant region.

“Apple Watch Series 10 builds on a decade of breakthrough innovations to offer the most advanced version yet, with even more intelligence, our biggest wearable display, and a design that’s slimmer and sleeker than ever before.” — Jeff Williams, Apple chief operating officer, 2024

Was Apple Watch Ultra 3 announced at Glowtime?

No. Apple did not introduce an entirely new Ultra generation at Glowtime; Apple announced Apple Watch Ultra 2 in a new black-titanium finish, with new bands and watchOS 11 features.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
  • There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
  • This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
  • Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
  • This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.

The black finish used a custom blasting process and a diamond-like carbon coating over grade 5 titanium. Apple said the result was scratch-resistant and durable. Updated Trail Loop, Alpine Loop, and Ocean Band options added black hardware, and Apple introduced a Titanium Milanese Loop designed for water activities.

Decision point Apple Watch Series 10 Apple Watch Ultra 2 in black titanium
Primary role Everyday smartwatch with a thin design Rugged sports and outdoor smartwatch
Design emphasis Thinness, display size, and daily comfort Durability, outdoor use, and black grade 5 titanium
Battery claim All-day 18-hour battery life Up to 36 hours with regular use; up to 72 hours in Low Power Mode
Water features Water-depth and water-temperature sensing Outdoor and water-focused features, including the Titanium Milanese Loop option
watchOS 11 highlights Health and fitness insights, including sleep-apnea notifications Training load, Vitals app, sleep-apnea notifications, Tides app, and new Action button customization
Special edition Not identified as an Ultra special edition Apple Watch Hermès Ultra 2 variant also announced

Apple said in 2024 that Apple Watch Ultra 2 offered up to 36 hours of battery life with regular use or up to 72 hours in Low Power Mode. Those are Apple’s stated endurance figures. The black-titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2 announcement supports the finish, band, software, battery, and Hermès details.

“Apple Watch Ultra 2 is the ultimate sports watch, with features that support athletes at every level of their training and performance — and throughout their day and night.” — Jeff Williams, Apple chief operating officer, 2024

The practical choice was not simply whether one watch was “better.” Series 10 emphasized slimness and everyday wear, while Ultra 2 emphasized endurance, durability, navigation, water use, and training-oriented tools.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the difference between AirPods 4 and AirPods 4 with ANC?

Apple launched two AirPods 4 versions: standard AirPods 4 and AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation. Both used a new open-ear design and the H2 chip, but the ANC model added Active Noise Cancellation and more charging options.

Feature AirPods 4 AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation
Design New open-ear design New open-ear design
Chip H2 H2
Noise control Standard listening configuration Active Noise Cancellation
Audio features Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking, Voice Isolation, and Siri Interactions Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking, Voice Isolation, and Siri Interactions
Charging case USB-C case USB-C case, with charging through USB-C, an Apple Watch charger, or a Qi-certified charger
Case battery claim Up to 30 hours, according to Apple Up to 30 hours, according to Apple

Apple said in 2024 that the new charging case was more than 10 percent smaller by volume than its predecessor and provided up to 30 hours of battery life. The official AirPods 4 announcement also highlighted a new acoustic architecture, low-distortion driver, and high-dynamic-range amplifier.

Rank #4
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 256GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
  • There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
  • This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
  • Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
  • This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.

The AirPods 4 ANC version was therefore more than a cosmetic or storage variant. Active Noise Cancellation and support for an Apple Watch charger or Qi-certified charger were the main practical differences called out at launch.

What changed for AirPods Max?

AirPods Max received new colors and USB-C charging convenience, but Apple did not announce a new AirPods Max generation at Glowtime. The announced colors were midnight, starlight, blue, purple, and orange. Apple’s event follow-up lists the color update, while the AirPods announcement covers USB-C charging.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What hearing-health features did AirPods Pro 2 receive?

AirPods Pro 2 gained a hearing-health system built around Hearing Protection, Hearing Test, and Hearing Aid features. Apple presented the Hearing Test as scientifically validated and described Hearing Aid as a clinical-grade, over-the-counter feature for people with mild to moderate hearing loss.

Feature What Apple announced What users should understand
Hearing Protection Hearing protection as part of the AirPods Pro 2 health system Intended to help address exposure to loud sound; the dossier does not establish that it prevents every form of hearing damage
Hearing Test A scientifically validated hearing test Apple’s description of the feature; it does not replace professional care in every situation
Hearing Aid A clinical-grade, over-the-counter hearing-aid feature for mild to moderate hearing loss Requires compatible hardware, current firmware, health-authority authorization, and regional availability

Apple’s Sumbul Desai, M.D., vice president of Health, connected the announcement to the company’s hearing research:

“Hearing health is an essential part of our overall wellbeing, yet it can often be overlooked — in fact, according to the Apple Hearing Study, a staggering 75 percent of people diagnosed with hearing loss go untreated.” — Sumbul Desai, M.D., Apple vice president of Health, 2024

According to the Apple Hearing Study, as cited by Apple in 2024, 75 percent of people diagnosed with hearing loss went untreated. Apple also reported in 2024 that one in three people were regularly exposed to loud environmental noise levels that could affect their hearing. These are Apple-reported study figures, not an independent estimate supplied by this article.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Apple iPhone 16 Pro Max, 256GB, Black Titanium - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • The large 6.9-inch display combines ProMotion 120Hz technology with advanced color calibration, giving movies, games, and productivity apps a spacious, crisp, and fluid visual experience that’s ideal for multitasking or immersive media consumption.

At the 2024 announcement, Apple expected sleep-apnea notifications to be available in more than 150 countries and regions, while Apple expected the Hearing Test and Hearing Aid features to be available in more than 100 countries and regions. The official health-features announcement made clear that authorization and regional availability applied. The 2024 expectations should not be treated as a current global availability statement in 2026.

How did the Glowtime lineup compare at launch?

The Glowtime lineup divided cleanly by use case: standard iPhone 16 models for mainstream phone buyers, Pro iPhones for advanced cameras and video, Series 10 for a thinner everyday watch, Ultra 2 for rugged sports and outdoor use, and AirPods 4 or AirPods Pro 2 for different audio and hearing-health needs.

If the priority was… The most relevant Glowtime announcement was… Why
A mainstream new iPhone iPhone 16 or iPhone 16 Plus A18, Camera Control, Action button, 48MP Fusion camera, 2x Telephoto, and macro photography
Advanced phone photography and video iPhone 16 Pro or iPhone 16 Pro Max A18 Pro, 5x Telephoto on both Pro models, 48MP Ultra Wide, and 4K120 Dolby Vision
A thin everyday smartwatch Apple Watch Series 10 Nearly 10 percent thinner than Series 7, Series 8, and Series 9, with a larger display and faster charging
Endurance and outdoor activities Apple Watch Ultra 2 in black titanium Up to 36 hours of regular-use battery life, up to 72 hours in Low Power Mode, and training, water, and navigation-oriented features
Open-ear AirPods with a choice of noise control AirPods 4 or AirPods 4 with ANC The two versions share the H2 platform but differ mainly in Active Noise Cancellation and charging options
Hearing-health tools AirPods Pro 2 Hearing Protection, Hearing Test, and Hearing Aid features, subject to hardware, firmware, authorization, and location

For a current purchase decision, treat this as a record of what Apple announced in September 2024. Do not assume a 2024 launch product is still Apple’s newest option, available at its original price, supported by the latest software, or eligible for the same health features in every region. Check the current product page, operating-system requirements, stock, and local health authorization before buying.

Frequently Asked Questions

Was Apple Watch Ultra 3 announced at the Glowtime event?

No. Apple announced Apple Watch Ultra 2 in a new black-titanium finish at Glowtime, along with new bands and watchOS 11 features; it did not announce an entirely new Ultra generation. Apple’s 2024 Ultra 2 announcement describes the finish and updates.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Did Apple announce a new Mac, iPad, or Apple TV at Glowtime?

No new Mac, iPad, or Apple TV hardware announcement is supported by the official event materials for Apple’s September 9, 2024 Glowtime event. The event focused on iPhone, Apple Watch, AirPods, and related health features.

Are the AirPods Pro 2 hearing-health features available in every country?

No. Apple’s 2024 launch expectations said sleep-apnea notifications were expected in more than 150 countries and regions, while AirPods Pro 2 Hearing Test and Hearing Aid features were expected in more than 100 countries and regions. Availability depended on compatible hardware, firmware, health-authority authorization, and location, so those figures are not a current global guarantee. Apple’s health-features announcement contains the launch caveats.

What is the difference between AirPods 4 and AirPods 4 with ANC?

AirPods 4 came in two versions: standard AirPods 4 and AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation. Both used the H2 chip and open-ear design, but the ANC version added Active Noise Cancellation and support for charging with an Apple Watch charger or Qi-certified charger.

The Bottom Line

Apple’s September 9, 2024 Glowtime event was a hardware-and-health update centered on iPhone 16, Apple Watch Series 10, Apple Watch Ultra 2 in black titanium, AirPods 4, AirPods Max, and AirPods Pro 2 hearing features. The most important distinctions were standard versus Pro iPhone cameras, Series 10 versus Ultra 2 watch design, and standard versus ANC AirPods 4. Because the event is historical, current prices, availability, support, and regional health permissions need separate verification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Pink - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Pink - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
$592.02
Bestseller No. 3
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
$614.97
Bestseller No. 4
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 256GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 16, US Version, 256GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
$679.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.