Zack Snyder says the extended cuts of Rebel Moon could help build interest in another film, but he has not announced Rebel Moon 3. The two longer, R-rated versions of the existing films are already on Netflix; whether they lead to a third installment remains uncertain.
What Snyder said about a third Rebel Moon
Asked at TIFF whether viewers might see Part Three soon, Snyder linked the possibility to how audiences discover the directors’ cuts. “I don’t know,” he said, before adding that if the cuts “get a little bit more popular” and find an audience, “then there’s a little bit more groundswell about maybe making another one.” The remarks were made in a TIFF interview and quoted by What’s on Netflix on September 28, 2026.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back | $19.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace | $19.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Dune: Part Two | Buy on Amazon | |
| 4 |
|
Serenity | $12.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials | $4.99 | Buy on Amazon |
That is a conditional hope, not a Netflix commitment. The available reports do not establish that Rebel Moon 3 is greenlit, in production, officially announced, or scheduled for release. Co-writer Kurt Johnstad previously said detailed outlines existed for possible films three through six, but outlines indicate creative planning—not an order to make those films.
The extended cuts are already streaming
Netflix released the R-rated editions on August 2, 2024, as Rebel Moon — Chapter One: Chalice of Blood and Rebel Moon — Chapter Two: Curse of Forgiveness. Netflix’s official guide to the director’s cuts describes added creatures, history, and action.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
They are substantial alternate presentations, not simply a pair of deleted-scene reels. TheWrap reported that the cuts add about two hours of footage between them and alter existing sequences. Chapter One runs 204 minutes; Chapter Two runs 173 minutes, according to TheWrap’s release-day coverage.
Snyder and producer Deborah Snyder said the alternate versions were planned in advance. Snyder described the PG-13 and R-rated editions as “almost alternate realities from each other, not like additional footage.” That is his description of how the edits differ, not a claim that they establish separate canon. He also said the R-rated versions’ exaggerated violence makes them “a little bit more satirical” and more of a comment on the genre, in TheWrap’s interview.
Rank #2
What the viewing figures do—and don’t—show
Netflix viewing data reported by What’s on Netflix through the first half of 2026 puts the original Part One at 135.6 million lifetime views and Part Two at 76 million. The extended cuts had 13.6 million and 14.2 million lifetime views, respectively. These are figures reported secondhand from Netflix data, not audited counts; the reporting does not by itself establish what performance would be enough to prompt a sequel.
The same outlet reported that each extended cut received 2.4 million views in the first half of 2026. In the second half of 2024, the Part One extended cut recorded 7.6 million views and the Part Two cut 8.3 million, according to What’s on Netflix’s viewing-figures report. These numbers describe viewing in the stated periods; they are not a public renewal threshold.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
Which version should you watch?
The choice is between the originally released PG-13 edits and the longer, R-rated cuts—not between different versions of a confirmed Part Three. The longer editions add and change material, so they suit viewers who want Snyder’s expanded presentation and are comfortable with more intense content. The original releases are the shorter option. The available reporting establishes the ratings, runtimes, and added or altered material, but cannot predict which cut an individual viewer will prefer.
| Edition | Rating and presentation | Runtime | What to expect |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chapter One: original release | PG-13 theatrical-style edit | Not stated in the cited reports | Original edit; less footage than the extended cut. |
| Chapter One: Chalice of Blood | R-rated extended cut | 204 minutes (TheWrap, August 2, 2024) | Added and altered material; Netflix describes more creatures, history, and action. |
| Chapter Two: original release | PG-13 theatrical-style edit | Not stated in the cited reports | Original edit; less footage than the extended cut. |
| Chapter Two: Curse of Forgiveness | R-rated extended cut | 173 minutes (TheWrap, August 2, 2024) | Added and altered material; Netflix describes more creatures, history, and action. |
Netflix availability can vary by territory. Check the titles in your local Netflix catalog for current availability.
Rank #4
What is known about Snyder’s next steps
In 2025, Snyder said he was working on an LAPD SWAT movie for Netflix and would return to considering the Rebel Moon universe afterward. That statement is historical context, not confirmation of his current 2026 schedule or a sequel. The latest reported comment remains a wait-and-see answer tied to whether the extended cuts find a larger audience.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




