DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
Documentary Explainers

Who Were the Five People Charged in Matthew Perry’s Death?

Five people were charged in the federal case over Matthew Perry’s fatal ketamine overdose. All later pleaded guilty and were sentenced.

By DocumentaryTube Team 3 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Five people were charged in the federal case connected to Matthew Perry’s fatal ketamine overdose: physicians Salvador Plasencia and Mark Chavez, Perry’s live-in personal assistant Kenneth Iwamasa, intermediary Erik Fleming, and supplier Jasveen Sangha. The case has since concluded with guilty pleas and sentences for all five; the U.S. Department of Justice said Iwamasa was the last defendant sentenced on May 27, 2026.

Who were the five people charged?

The federal case involved distinct roles in obtaining, supplying, and administering ketamine. The outcomes below reflect later guilty pleas and sentencing proceedings, not merely the allegations announced in August 2024.

Person Reported role Plea and sentence Professional-license consequence
Salvador Plasencia Santa Monica physician who sold ketamine to Iwamasa and taught him to inject it, according to prosecutors. Pleaded guilty to four counts of ketamine distribution; sentenced to 30 months in prison. Surrendered his California medical license in September 2025.
Mark Chavez Former San Diego physician who operated a ketamine clinic and sold ketamine to Plasencia, according to the DOJ. Pleaded guilty to one count of conspiracy to distribute ketamine; sentenced to three years’ probation, eight months’ home detention, and 300 hours of community service. Surrendered his medical license in November 2024.
Kenneth Iwamasa Perry’s live-in personal assistant, who obtained and repeatedly injected him with ketamine. Pleaded guilty to conspiracy to distribute ketamine resulting in death and serious bodily injury; sentenced to 41 months in federal prison and fined $10,000 on May 27, 2026. Not stated in the DOJ releases cited here.
Erik Fleming Worked with Sangha to distribute ketamine to Perry through Iwamasa. Pleaded guilty to federal narcotics charges; sentenced to two years in prison. Not stated in the DOJ releases cited here.
Jasveen Sangha Supplied ketamine to Fleming for distribution to Perry; DOJ materials also called her the “Ketamine Queen.” Pleaded guilty to five counts, including distribution of ketamine resulting in death or serious bodily injury; sentenced to 180 months (15 years) in prison on April 8, 2026. Not stated in the DOJ releases cited here.

How prosecutors described the ketamine supply chain

The August 2024 charging announcement said Plasencia contacted Chavez for ketamine and then supplied the drug to Perry and Iwamasa. Prosecutors also said Fleming obtained ketamine from Sangha and supplied it to Iwamasa. Those statements described the government’s allegations at the time; the charging announcement expressly noted that an indictment is an allegation and defendants are presumed innocent unless proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

Later guilty pleas and sentencing releases supplied the subsequent case context. The DOJ said Iwamasa repeatedly injected Perry with ketamine supplied by Sangha through Fleming. On October 28, 2023, Iwamasa injected Perry with at least three shots, which caused Perry’s death, according to the DOJ’s account of the sentencing proceedings. Plasencia’s sentence release said he did not supply the ketamine that caused Perry’s death.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How the case moved from charges to sentences

  1. August 2024: charges announced. The federal charging announcement set out allegations about the defendants’ different roles and preserved the presumption of innocence.
  2. Guilty pleas followed. Each of the five defendants later pleaded guilty. Their admitted offenses were not identical: they ranged from ketamine distribution and conspiracy to distribution resulting in death or serious bodily injury.
  3. April 8, 2026: Sangha sentenced. She received 15 years in prison.
  4. May 27, 2026: Iwamasa sentenced. He received 41 months in prison and a $10,000 fine. The DOJ described his proceeding as the fifth and final sentencing in the case.

At the August 2024 charging announcement, U.S. Attorney Martin Estrada said, “These defendants cared more about profiting off of Mr. Perry than caring for his well-being.” That was Estrada’s prosecutorial statement, not a judicial finding.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Official sources

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.