Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
DocumentaryTube
Admit one · Blog

Amazon First Reads: How to Get a Free Book Each Month

Prime members can choose a free Kindle book each month through Amazon First Reads. Here’s how claiming works, what devices you can use, and whether you keep the book.
Opened Runtime2 min Written byDocumentaryTube Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Amazon First Reads lets eligible Prime members choose a free Kindle book from a monthly selection of upcoming Amazon Publishing titles. Amazon says new picks arrive on the first of each month. You can read a claimed title on a Kindle device, a Fire tablet, a computer, or a compatible phone or tablet with the free Kindle app.

What Amazon First Reads offers

First Reads is a Prime member benefit that gives early access to a curated selection of upcoming Amazon Publishing books. The standard offer is one free Kindle book each month; Amazon says bonus short reads are available only in select months. The titles change monthly, so the live selection page is the place to check what is currently available.

Amazon’s September 2026 explainer says, “New picks arrive on the first of every month.” The selection is therefore not a fixed catalog: members choose among the titles offered for that month.

How to claim a monthly book

  1. Sign in to the Amazon account associated with your Prime membership.
  2. Open Amazon’s First Reads and Prime reading guide and follow its link to the current First Reads selection.
  3. Review the available titles and their editor notes, then choose the book you want.
  4. Follow the instructions shown on Amazon’s page to add the selection to your Kindle library.

Amazon confirms the monthly cadence but does not establish a universal claim deadline or stable button labels in its guide. Check the current page for the titles and instructions available to your account rather than relying on a specific monthly cutoff.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Do you need a Kindle or Kindle Unlimited?

No Kindle e-reader is required. Amazon says First Reads books can be read on a Kindle e-reader, Fire tablet, computer, or compatible phone or tablet using the free Kindle app. Kindle Unlimited is not required, and you do not need to buy a device to use the benefit.

Can you keep a First Reads book?

Yes. Amazon says a First Reads selection does not expire after it has been added to your Kindle library. You can start reading it right away or save it for later.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

First Reads versus Prime Reading

Feature First Reads Prime Reading
How access works Choose from a monthly selection of upcoming titles with early access. Read from a separate rotating catalog.
Kindle Unlimited required? No, according to Amazon. Not stated in Amazon’s cited guide.
What happens after selection? The title does not expire after it is added to your Kindle library. Not stated in Amazon’s cited guide.

Amazon discusses both benefits in its First Reads and Prime reading guide. The two are not the same: First Reads is a monthly early-access choice, while Prime Reading is a rotating catalog. Amazon’s guide does not establish a current catalog size or identical terms across marketplaces.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Are there April picks?

The Amazon source available for this article does not confirm an April lineup, and April 2026 is not the current month as of October 8, 2026. No April titles, authors, genres, prices, or claim window can be reliably stated here. For a current month’s options, consult the live First Reads page linked above.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Screening Room

  1. How Lady Gaga’s “Abracadabra” Music Video Was MadeAdmit one · BlogHow Lady Gaga's “Abracadabra” Music Video Was MadeOpened08 OCT 2026Runtime4 min
  2. Outlander: Blood of My Blood Season 2: Release, Episodes, Story and Where to WatchAdmit one · BlogOutlander: Blood of My Blood Season 2: Release, Episodes, Story and Where to WatchOpened08 OCT 2026Runtime3 min
  3. Heated Rivalry Season 2: Release Window, Cast and What’s ConfirmedAdmit one · BlogHeated Rivalry Season 2: Release Window, Cast and What's ConfirmedOpened08 OCT 2026Runtime3 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.